Will my Mac run 64bit?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by deyno1903, May 27, 2011.

  1. deyno1903 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I'm new to the Mac and would like to know if it will run in 64 bit mode?? I don't want to try and boot in 64 bitr mode incase I mess something up?? How do I check to see if it will and have the right drivers, etc?? Below is a shot of my system.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #2
    Short answer: Yes for any modern mac (Core 2 Duo, i3, i5, i7) - you don't need to do anything.

    There might be confusion because it used to be that OSX was running a 32bit kernel by default on most machines -- might even still be the case. However, you can still run 64bit programs and use >32GB of ram with the 32bit kernel (unlike linux or windows). I know because my old hackintosh was using the 32bit kernel, but the system addressed 8GB and ran 64bit binaries just fine.

    If you're doing a lot of big memory work though, I'd buy more RAM. I'm using 12GB in my rig, which allows me to have a 4GB virtual windows machine and plenty of other stuff open without issues.
     
  3. BlueSchizz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #3
    witch such specs how come you have doubts about 64 bit
     
  4. ZeD X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #4
    Yes, it will.

    Anything from Core 2 Duo or better will run.

    You just need to use this application.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Run Activity Monitor, choose All Processes in the top-right and look for kernel_task. If it says "Intel (64 bit)" in the Kind column then you're running in 64-bit. This is the default on new systems.
     

Share This Page