will my mbp last 4 years?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by greenbreadmmm, Aug 26, 2007.

1. greenbreadmmm macrumors regular

i know everyone says macs last forever compared to windows systems. does that mean my new santa rosa 2.4 ghz 2 gig mbp will last me all 4 years of college if im majoring in graphic design? thanks

2. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

Take care of it, and yeah, it should. Of course it's not going to remain a top-of-the-line system for four years; but like with any piece of technology, it's obsolete the instant one purchases it.

3. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

If you take care of it, it should last you for four years. Many people still have older PowerBooks that haven't broken yet. If you're planning on keeping it that long, you should buy AppleCare.

4. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

Oh, yeah. Definitely go for AppleCare. Sorry about forgetting that. ;x

5. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

...and you can wait up to a year before dropping $300+ for it if you want to.

6. greenbreadmmm thread starter macrumors regular

but speed wise, i hear they dont get as bogged down as quick, so like will it be super slow by my 4th year? i dont know if this is making sense, but i heard macs wont feel as old as they are with osx compared to windows

7. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

You're correct. I still end up wiping my machines routinely on an annual basis, but that's always been something I've done. OS X is built to know how to maintain itself.

A word of advice, though: I would suggest staying away from theming, Unsanity hacks, etc., as those tend to bog a system down. They're no different to some other monstrosity like WindowBlinds on lolwindows, and Aqua is more beautiful than any theme. ;p I speak from experience.

8. peletrane macrumors member