Will my new set up work...?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Dany M, Jul 22, 2007.

  1. Dany M macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    I am expecting and waiting to get the new iMacs but until then I am wondering how my computer set up will work.

    # 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    # 2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    # 250GB Serial ATA Drive
    # NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT 256MB SDRAM
    # SuperDrive 8X (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    # Apple Wireless Keyboard & wireless Mighty Mouse + Mac OS X (US English)
    # AppleCare Protection Plan for iMac - Auto-enroll
    # 24-inch widescreen LCD
    # AirPort Extreme
    # Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR

    I have SBC Yahoo High Speed Internet(Pro), that can be wireless with the built in airport extreme right? Also the Pro package doesn't support OS 10.4, will it support OS 10.5?
    https://swot.sbc.com/swot/dslMassMa...oductPage&offerId=78168&serviceType=DYNAMICIP
    Says that in the bottom....

    I also have an Xbox 360 which connects to a router but if i make SBC Wireless, will i just be able to plug in the cable to the back of the mac in the Ethernet port it has? If i make my 360 wireless with the adapter it has, will it be able to connect to the airport extreme in the iMac as well?

    If anyone has anything near the potential set up I have please comment of anything such as if I missed anything i have to account for. :):)

    Also the iMac has built in bluetooth, is there a nice, affordable and good printer with bluetooth?

    Should I use the keyboard/mouse apple makes, and if i do, wired or wireless and if I don't, anyone can link me to a keyboard/mouse they use or one thats better than the one apple makes.

    Thanks in advance.:p:p
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    I don't really understand what Yahoo's Pro level of service has to do with going wireless... do you mean that they give you a wireless router / gateway as part of the deal? Or do you have one already? If you do, you can go wireless with pretty much any DSL or Cable Modem service. And you really don't need any specific support or version of software. Pretty much every Mac, PC, and Linux box running any OS that came out later than about 1998 will hook up with a DSL or Cable Modem without any trouble.

    XBOX hooked up to internet sharing on the Mac: This might work, but I really wouldn't recommend it. Just get a router... they're not expensive. What sense does it make to have a $2000+ computer replace a $20 router? If the 360 already has a wireless adapter, the best option is to just have both it and the iMac join a router that's connected to your DSL modem.

    Bluetooth Printing: I've never tried it. I like bluetooth (and use it heavily for kb, mouse, cell phone, headset, etc), but I'd consider ethernet much less of a hassle. Bluetooth is great, but it's pretty slow and short range. Bluetooth printing is ideal when you have lots of laptops roaming around and you want to stop by the printer and just print to it without messing with the network. All the Apple routers support printing to a USB printer over ethernet; I'd personally do that. If you are on a budget, a used 802.11g Apple router (Airport Extreme Base Station, which could host both your printer and a wired connection to the XBOX; or Airport Express, which cannot host the wired connection but can also stream music to a stereo) are cheap options.

    KB/Mouse: It's personal preference, really. I use and like the Apple wireless ones with my iMac.
     
  3. Dany M thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    I was trying to find a way of not using the extreme base station, is there any way for that to happen?
     
  4. Maxington macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Oshkosh, WI
    #4
    Hmm I would say probably not unless they have already stated they would in the future...
     
  5. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Regarding the 360 question: trust me when I say this...either buy a router as mkrishnan suggested or buy the wireless adapter. You will pull your hair out trying to get the 360 to work correctly when sharing the internet connection from a Mac. And even when it does work, your NAT settings aren't adjustable, therefore you are always in 'Moderate' zone which screws up LIVE.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Probably, but no *sensible* way... again, between a used or new AEBS or Airport Express, and reputable 802.11g routers like Netgear's WGR614 and Linksys' WRT-54G, there's really no good reason to try to hack all this stuff together without a router...

    Or, rather, let me back up a step and ask... why do you not want to use a router?
     
  7. Dany M thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    I dont want my desk to be cluttered but if I get a Extreme Base Station, I can use that for the xbox, and printer ....wait, im going to have a modem also connecting to the router and iMac right?
     
  8. Dany M thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Sorry for double post but can someone reply to my previous question?
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Wall telephone port -> Modem (phone cable)
    Modem -> Router (ethernet cable)
    Printer -> Router (USB cable, optional)

    Router -> Xbox, Mac (either ethernet cable or wirelessly).

    So the router will sit by wherever your modem is. If you're content with a wireless connection to the Mac, you can just put the router off under a table with the modem or whatever, and then you don't even need a wire to the Mac. What a lot of people do (cable modems) is set it up so that the router is sitting next to the TV and Xbox, and then the computers all acquire wirelessly... this is how my setup is. Does that make sense?
     
  10. Dany M thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #10
    OK, now that makes the more sense and seems perfect and ideal for me and I thank you for your help that you have given me, thank once again!

    If I have any questions once we get the imac, il be posting it in here.
     
  11. Dany M thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #11
    Hey I was wondering how do torrents work on the mac, which cliets work....?
     
  12. headhammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #12
    that's really wierd. i have both a 360 and an airport extreme base station, and have no issues whatsoever, and i have a gold live subscription.

    i'm also able to use the media centre functions on my 360 pulling content from my mac via a nifty program called connect360.
     
  13. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #13
    The AEBS *is* a router... as long as you use a router, you should be fine.

    Popular ones include xtorrent, tomato, azureas, and transmission. Read these two threads:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=333156&highlight=best+torrent+client
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=306947&highlight=best+torrent+client
     
  14. Dany M thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #14
    Alright, and it seems il be making my purchase today or this weekend hopefully.
     
  15. Dany M thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    JW, doesgraphics card matter much for teh 24 incher??

    NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT 256MB SDRAM [Add $125]

    Yes no maybe so...???
     
  16. Dany M thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #16
    Hey sorry for triple post but what reseller offers no interest for 1 year?
     

Share This Page