Will my USA bought iMac work in London

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by goodwill, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. goodwill macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi I am planning a move to London in the next few months and was curious as to whether or not if the iMac G5 24inch will work/be compatible in London. I did a quick search on the forums and couldn't find an answer to this so I started this thread.

    I have not found or received a clear/precise answer on whether or not my USA compliant iMac will be able to handle the power requirements in London or even be able to function/turn on etc. If anyone has any insight and advice on this I would really appreciate it.

    Thanks!

    goodwill
     
  2. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #2
    From Apple's website here:http://www.apple.com/imac/specs/

    "Line voltage: 100-240V AC"

    So all you will need is a new power cord so the plugs will fit.

    This has actually been the case on iMacs for a very long time. back as far as the G3 iMacs.
     
  3. ProwlingTiger macrumors 65816

    ProwlingTiger

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #3
    Don't worry, it will function and turn on, just have make sure and have the correct power adapter as strider said.
     
  4. macwall macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #4
    as long as you have the right outlet/plug it'll be fine
     
  5. goodwill thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #5
    is this something i can just purchase off of apples website or should i wait until i am in london to get this?
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    Just get a plug adapter at the airport or somewhere - no need to get a whole new cable.
     
  7. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #7
    A new cable at somewhere like Poundland will be cheaper than an adaptor at the airport, though.
     
  8. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #8
    Agree, I have bought spares in airports (you will probably pay an extra price, yes, but at least, you will have them to hand the minute you land at your destination), or an Apple shop will have world wide adaptors; any decent electrical shop should stock them. Cheers.
     
  9. g4cubed macrumors 6502a

    g4cubed

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    #9
    I don't know why but that damn traveling gnome (from Travelocity) where he plugs something into the wall and gets shot across the room came to mind when I read this. :p
     

Share This Page