Will new Mac Pros run 10.5?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bobbydaz, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. bobbydaz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Tried searching the net for the answer but no joy, can anyone confirm?
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
  3. bamf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    Out of curiosity, why would you want to run 10.5 when 10.6 is a highly optimized version of 10.5?
     
  4. bobbydaz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Couple of reasons, our canon printer doesn't have drivers for 10.6 plus the whole 'creator codes' issue is a big problem for our studio.
     
  5. reel2reel macrumors 6502a

    reel2reel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    Application-specific 'Recent Items' isn't broken in 10.5.x :p

    Honestly, though, I wish Apple would FIX that already. I use it all the time in textedit and FCP.
     
  6. krkh99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #6
    hmm, i will always prefer 10.5's Expose, and also the ability to use the Ctrl+Opt+Cmd+t finder sidebar shortcut in 10.5... (It does not work in 10.6 sadly....)
     
  7. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #7
    I suppose you could hack (by hack I mean burn a copy that has edited hardware specs) it to install, I don't see why not.

    You would have to install a GT120 or a 4870 tho...

    However left to it's own devices, no, it won't install.
     
  8. Justinf79 macrumors 6502

    Justinf79

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    Wow that's lame you can't put 10.5 on a '10 Mac. Apple is just wayyy too controlling with their desktop computers...
     
  9. Weepul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #9
    Only having drivers for new hardware in new versions of the OS is hardly controlling. The real disappointment is that there are reasons people would prefer to still be running an older OS....
     
  10. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #10
    That's like complaining Windows 2000 wont install on an Alienware...
     
  11. aaaaaaron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #11
    don't hate, i'm running 10.4 haha
     
  12. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    Not really... It's like complaining that Windows Vista won't install on a new PC. Mac OS X Leopard is from 2007, which really isn't that old.
     
  13. Dustman macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #13
    Um, no. It's like complaining that Vista won't install on an alienware. Even with the Leopard disk there's no way to install it on a 10.6 machine.

    Edit. Oops too slow lol what he said.
     
  14. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #14
    So you want to put a system that is less optimised for your hardware and/or a system that has no drivers for your hardware?

    I think I prefer the optimised system and developers have the old hardware anyway so there is no problem.
     
  15. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #15
    Leopard just doesn't have the right drivers, plain and simple.
     
  16. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    That's pretty obvious... I was stating that their example given was not an accurate one compared to the OP.
     
  17. eponym macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #17
    Buying a new Pro and then putting 10.5 on it would be a waste of money.
     

Share This Page