Will new MBAs beat MBPs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ThirtyThr33, Jun 29, 2011.

1. ThirtyThr33 macrumors 6502

ThirtyThr33

So I fully understand that this is all based on rumors and not much physical evidence so forgive me in advance. However, do you think the new MBAs will be more powerful/faster than the current MBPs? Again I know we don't have all the details but I have a feeling if the MBAs get sandy bridges and they will obviously have SSDs then they might be better computers than the MBP.

Ideas? Opinions?

2. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

ECUpirate44

The graphics in the MBA are nowhere near the MBP. The 15 and 17 have dedicated GPU's. I think the low voltage sb CPU used in the air is less powerful than the ones used in the pro.

3. kobyh15 macrumors 6502a

They're going to use low voltage Sandy Bridge processors. They will not be close in processor intensive tasks to even the dual cores in the 13" let alone the quads in the 15" or 17". For true portable power, the MBP will continue to be the better choice.

4. awer25 macrumors 65816

awer25

^^ This.

5. ThirtyThr33 thread starter macrumors 6502

ThirtyThr33

Does photoshop count? Im considering one for college but I can't see myself doing too much gaming or video rendering. Maybe a little. But I just want speed.

6. awer25 macrumors 65816

awer25

Photoshop is very CPU intensive. You would directly benefit from the 13" MBP over the Air (and even more with the 15" quad-core).

7. tombubi macrumors regular

Apple will certainly make a separation in its product lines. So it should be clear the MBP has power and MBA has portability.

8. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

Icy1007

9. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

Lone Deranger

Remember, PhotoShop versions CS4/CS5 have options to utilize a dedicated GPU such as those found in the MBP's to speed up various tasks. The GPU in the MBA's are not adequate enough for this and thus won't be used for these advanced acceleration methods.