Will nMP memory work in a cMP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Demigod Mac, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #1
  2. Umbongo, Mar 16, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2015

    Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Probably, but you can get 16GB DIMMs for $150, so why buy that from OWC? For future upgrade/resale purposes?
     
  3. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    It will work, but as Umbongo said, it's rather pointless. You can buy any dual ranked PC3-ECC-R DIMMs and they will work OK including thermal sensors. Speed does not matter as long it is 10600 or above.
     
  4. Demigod Mac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #4
    http://www.amazon.com/Mushkin-Enhanced-Registered-Memory-971980A/dp/B00GYGPZ86

    Still waiting to hear back from Mushkin if these have the thermal sensor.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    As stated above, Yes they will work. As you can see from some of my prior posts, I am definitely not a fan of OWC for a lot of reasons. Mainly, faulty SSDs.

    My RAM supplier since 1986 has been:

    http://www.datamemorysystems.com/dm61-785/

    I can not recommend them highly enough. They have a Lifetime warranty. In all those years, I have never gotten a bad stick of RAM from them.

    Lou
     
  6. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Thermal sensor is part of the JEDEC spec, that is why no one mentions it. Only Apple ever made a deal out of it.
     
  7. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #7
    What good is a warranty if I never get to use it?

    ;)
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    ^^^^That's a Tough one to answer:eek: But, at least in my case, I have been happy to never have to use it.

    But, actually that's not quite true. A couple of years ago, I had a Transcend 8GB flash drive fail after about three years of use, they happily replaced it.

    Lou
     
  9. Demigod Mac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #9
    Ordered the Mushkin RAM after calling them and confirming. (also a lifetime warranty)

    I recall there being a thread on here with folks claiming that sticks without the "Apple" thermal sensor meant the Mac Pro's fans would run faster than they needed to. But if it's part of the spec, I guess that was all a bunch of hot air...?
     
  10. Demigod Mac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #10
    Memory installed and it works. Photoshop is certainly happy now.

    Probably won't go for the 56GB max because that'd take it down to single channel.
     

Share This Page