Will Nvidia GeForce GTX 285 work with macpro 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by funkytwig, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. funkytwig macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #1
    I am looking for a graphics card replacement for my Mac Pro 1,1 (CPU upgraded to 64bit Xeon 3Ghz. I want to run Blackmagic daVinci Resolve Lite and FCPx. I have 2 monitors so want a twin head card. TheNvidia GeForce GTX 285 looks good but don't think it will run on my hardware. Do people know if this is the case?

    Ben
     
  2. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    Don't know about the GTX 285 but I was running an AMD 5770 in my 1,1 when I had it, worked great. Any reason your specifically looking at a 285?
     
  3. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #3
    Resolve requiers an NVIDIA card in the system.
     
  4. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    285GTX will not work by itself because only 64-bit EFI.

    can be run by injector + helper card
     
  5. jeremyshaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #5
    Wasn't there a mac version produced from eVGA, though? How did they do it?
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    There was. It still only ran in 64 bit EFI (i.e. a 2008 Mac Pro and higher.)
     
  7. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    Resolve will actually work with an ATI card now as well (they recently added OpenCL support to appease the laptop and iMac users). But it isn't as fast and you lose some processing features you only get with CUDA (such as hardware noise reduction).

    But needless to say, MP models prior to 2008 (3,1) aren't exactly ideal for running Resolve at its potential.
     
  8. somewhoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #8
    Resolve req. two gpu cards, one gui display card and other processing CUDA in this case gtx285 card, so the gui display card can be original efi ("helper") card.. :)
     

Share This Page