Will PC memory work in a mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MattMK45, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. MattMK45 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I was wondering what kind of ram I need to purcahse for my powerbook g4. I looked at the crucial website, however the prices are rather steep and being the cheapskate I am, i tried to find cheaper ram. Then i found some bargains, however I was wondering whether mac specific ram will be the only memory to work or will pc ram work as well.

    Thanks:apple:
     
  2. MatLane macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #2
    Any ram will work as long as it's compatible.


    To be honest crucial and kingston ram i would deffo pay that extra. But i can understand the money situation
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. MattMK45 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    i was just looking around on amazon and ebay, it would be easier than upgrading the hdd but not neccessarily cheaper. Hopefully i will get both done soon
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    You're going to be limited to 2 GB if both slots are working. Adding a 1 GB stick of RAM isn't going to be that expensive. Adding a new hard drive is a bit of a pain but it can be done.

    I'd save up for a new MacBook or MacBook Pro to be honest. Even the newest PowerBook G4 is about to hit 4 years old.
     
  6. MattMK45 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    well i've just purchased this powerbook and am completley sold. I would like to get as much life out of it as possible, evevn though I would love an intel machine
     
  7. senseless macrumors 68000

    senseless

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #8
    Would a 17" powerbook G4 1.33ghz benefit going to 2 gigabytes of memory from one, if it's just used for websurfing and email? It's running Leopard. (10.5.8)
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    How much do you have right now? Getting more than 1 GB of RAM is a must.
     
  9. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #10
    someone gave me a G4 Mac Mini and i found an old 1GB RAM chip for it at work where we only have PC's. the 512MB I took i out i put into an old EMachines PC i rebuilt for family. all works fine
     
  10. senseless macrumors 68000

    senseless

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #11
    1 GB in it now. I was over a friend's house on Xmas and wasn't sure if the internet slowness was due to the G4 or the memory.
     

Share This Page