will snow leopard run fine on this pc notebook?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by upagainst, Feb 20, 2010.

1. upagainst macrumors newbie

upagainst

hey guys, i have never owned a mac before and i am really interested at this point. i don't have the money to actually buy one, but i do have the money for snow leopard and i know that it can be installed onto laptops with a bit of knowledge (or instructions).

the laptop is made by gateway and was purchased in 2008 and is really running strong. i wiped it out completely and put windows 7 rc1 on it in september, and it's been smoother than when i bought it new even. windows 7 rc1 is set to expire though in about ten days, so here is what i plan on doing: buying snow leopard and replacing windows 7 on this notebook. will it work? the purpose of this thread is to figure out if i will run into any horrible hardware problems, or pretty much any big problems known with these particular specs. i'm new to mac, so please be nice. i just bought an iphone like 5 months ago, so i'm kind like you guys :D.

THE ALMIGHTY 2008 BUDGET GATEWAY LAPTOP SPECS

Gateway M-6843

* Intel Core 2 Duo T5750 @ 2.0GHz
    * 3GB PC2-5300 DDR2 Memory
    * 160GB 5400rpm SATA Hard Drive
    * 8x DVD+/-RW Dual Layer Burner with LabelFlash
    * 15.4-inch WXGA (1280x800) Wide LCD with 1.3MP Webcam
    * Intel GMA X3100 Integrated Graphics
    * v.92 56kbps Modem, 10/100 Ethernet, 802.11a/b/g Wireless
    * Three USB 2.0, ExpressCard/54, 5-in-1 Card Reader
    * 14" x 10" x 1.5" @ 6.3 lbs.

Whatoya think mate? :apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

3. [DL] macrumors 6502

[DL]

Yeah, it will run fine.

Good luck installng it! :)

4. upagainst thread starter macrumors newbie

upagainst