Will Snow Leopard work on my MacBook?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Memx, Jan 2, 2009.

  1. Memx macrumors member

    Memx

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I have the old glossy white MacBook (13.3" 2.1GHz 120 GB) and have seen that there is a new Leopard coming in 2009. Will i be able to buy the new software and install it on my MacBook? or will i have to buy a new MacBook altogether?:confused:
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Snow Leopard might not work on 32-bit machines, but yours is 64-bit, so it should be fine.
     
  4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Yes, I did know because the 2.1GHz MacBook is a Core 2 Duo. The Core Duo MacBooks only went up to 2GHz.
     
  5. Memx thread starter macrumors member

    Memx

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #5
    thanks guys.
    i was just asking because my father has an old powerbook g5, on which he wanted to install leopard, and it didn't work.
     
  6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #6
    it better work! i love my core duo
     
  7. Memx thread starter macrumors member

    Memx

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    London
  8. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #8
    Did he buy it from a guy in an elevator?
     
  9. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #9
    Ditto. I can't see why they wouldn't make it work on them.
     
  10. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #10
    I love those old Power Book G5s.
     
  11. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #11
    We don't know about pricing yet. Apple is currently selling Leopard for £83 so expect it to be around that price point.

    I can see one reason ;), 32 bit vs 64 bit.

    I think we will know a lot more in 2 days time.
     
  12. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #12
    but but but core duos are so recent lol
     
  13. Ploki macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
  14. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #14
    There's a minimum spec though. Not all PPCs are fast enough.
     
  15. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #15
    Leopard is, Snow Leopard (from reports) sounds like it may not be.
     
  16. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #16
    it is, but it requires a G4 of 867MHz or faster or any G5. The OP typed G5 by G4 by mistake. Do a google search for G5 PowerBook to understand why some users are making jokes.
     
  17. svndmvn Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #17
    the sarcasm on this thread is due to the fact that powerbooks only saw G4 PPCs in them, PowerMacs went up to G5s.
    Anyways, if you have a regular copy of Leopard, and not the grey CDs that came with your Macbook, it should work on a G4, still depends on how powerful the machine is.
    Snow Leopard should have to work on your machine better than Leopard does now. It would be optimized for multiple cores and I believe Apple is stripping down the Apps making the whole System less demanding than it already is.
     
  18. Ploki macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
  19. MatLane macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #19
    Yeah you will not have a problem running Snow Leopard on the Macbook
    :apple:ML
     
  20. Memx thread starter macrumors member

    Memx

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #20
    right.
    he tried to download leopard off the discs i got with my macbook. so it would work if he buys the original discs?
     
  21. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #21
    He'll need to buy a retail copy of the OS, rather than using one that came with a different machine, yes. They are machine-specific installs if not off the shelf.
     
  22. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #22
    Pfft, minor detail. I don't class that as a good reason.

    Though I did find myself realising today that this is the first computer I've actually kept for so long without actually upgrading it or wanting a new one.

    Let them make it incompatible, I don't mind. Leopard's fine for me :D
     
  23. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #23
    LOL!! :D
     
  24. Kuska macrumors regular

    Kuska

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Deep in The Weald, England
    #24
    Installed Leopard on an old 800mhz eMac that I recycled for my daughter to use. Runs everyday apps fine (most of iLife '08, Office etc etc) only really feels the pain when trying to watch .mv4 files or any real processing work. In fact Leopard put a new breath of life into the machine.
     

Share This Page