Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

raymondu999

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 11, 2008
Hey all. I'm a student in Uni doing INformation Systems. I'm wondering if things like Apache, Tomcat, and MySQL will work immediately flawlessly on Snow Leopard. I need these for project work so if they might not work on SL I might have to delay my upgrade plans:rolleyes:

bootedbear

macrumors 6502
Sep 13, 2004
Austin, TX
I've been running Tomcat since 10.0 and PostgreSQL since 10.4, and an upgrade has never cause any types of problems. I can't see SL being any different.

brasscat

macrumors 6502
Jun 9, 2007
Dallas, Texas
Last night I installed MySQL 64-bit onto SL and it works without a problem. If you use the service run/stopper in the preference pane, that works as well, but only in 32 bit mode.

tercerojista

macrumors newbie
Aug 29, 2009
I was running MySQL on Leopard. Last night I installed Snow Leopard. I found that I could no longer get MySQL to run.

I use the 'mysql.server start' command in terminal. The mysql.server executable is still on my computer. It's in exactly the same place:

usr/local/mysql-5.0.51b-osx10.5-/support-files

If I go there in terminal, and try the mysql.server start command, I get the message:

mysql.server: command not found

(yes, I'm running as SU)

Not sure what's gone wrong here...

I'm not greatly surprised that something went wrong here. When I Google for information about MySQL on OS X, I find SO MANY different ways of installing and starting the software, that it's all really rather confusing...

raymondu999

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 11, 2008
so can I make the assumption that installing MySQL after an SL install works, but not having it run from a previous installation running on Leopard?

How about Apache and Tomcat?

Jun 30, 2009