Will Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic run well on my computer?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MacBassPlayer, Aug 9, 2009.

  1. MacBassPlayer macrumors newbie

    MacBassPlayer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Sidney, IN
    #1
    Hi, everyone. Recently, a friend gave me the game mentioned in the thread title as a gift. I am not sure if it is meant to run well on my Mac. I have an :apple: eMac PowerPC G4 with an ATI Radeon 7500 graphics/video card. Any help would be most appreciated.
     
  2. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Try comparing the specs of your computer to the system requirements of the game.

    http://www.aspyr.com/product/game_specs/38

    Seems to me that your GPU might not be up to the task. The Radeon 7500 is less than the suggested 8500 to run the game.
     
  3. rj-300zx macrumors regular

    rj-300zx

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #3
    Yea eMacs are definately not for gaming. Try getting at least a PowerBook G4 like the one I have in my sig. Preferably anything with a ATI Mobility 9700 64mb or above.
     
  4. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #4
    It chugs along in minimum settings on my G4 1.33 ghz until the action heats up, then it's a 1 fps grind. It'll be hideous on your emac.
     
  5. MacBassPlayer thread starter macrumors newbie

    MacBassPlayer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Sidney, IN
    #5
    I am looking into buying a new computer (The eMac is starting to become dated). I did have someone offer me an ATI Radeon 9200 graphics/video card. Will it run smooth with that? Also, what would one recommend that I buy to run the game and similar games with? I was recommended by a few people to get a used iMac G4/G5.
     
  6. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #6
    The 9200 is a well past it card now so it's really not worth it (and you can't upgrade the one in the emac either). Avoid the G4's/5's too, they are yesterdays technology. Go the second hand Intel route it funds are tight or you can get good deals on Apple reconditioned Intel Macs too.
     
  7. Brad Oliver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    The 9200 is (or was) the bare minimum for KOTOR back in the day. It will not be an awesome gaming experience. The Radeon 8500/9000/9200 were a pretty craptacular family of video cards, and we had to work pretty hard to get KOTOR to run at a minimum playable state on that chipset. Do not expect much.
     
  8. Coalman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #8
    Dantooine (spell?) will be awful. The rest of the game will be fun. I played it--barely--on my eMac.
     
  9. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #9
    Muahaha! I completed this game like 30 times on my eMac 700 MHz with GeForce 2 MX. It ran at <10 fps most of the time but it still was fun to me ^^;;
     
  10. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    Posting in this thread as the old one seems to be gone, anyway there was supposed to be a new intel patch for KOTOR being released around Snow Leopard, is there any development on this one?
     

Share This Page