Will the 24" Cinema Display work with 2010 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SteelBlueTJ, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. SteelBlueTJ, Jul 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2012

    SteelBlueTJ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I have a 2010 Mac Pro with the 5770 GPU. I am going to pick up a slightly used 24" Cinema display from a local seller on craigslist. I understand it has something like 3 different connections - mini display port, usb and something else. Will it hook up to my Mac Pro with the 5770? I never had a cinema display before so not sure about the connections. Do I absolutely have to use the USb and whatever the other one is? Can I just plug the Mini display port into the GPU and I'm good to go? Thanks
     
  2. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #2
    You will need a DVI to miniDisplayPort converter.
    Since the 24" isnt a 27" and up, then you dont need to spend 100 plus on a Dual DVI to miniDisplayPort converter.
    You can pick up an Apple one or cheaper via PC type stores.

    P.s. Im hoping its DVI and not ADC. Then you will need an ADC to DVI then miniDisplayPort converter.
     
  3. SteelBlueTJ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Why would I need a converter? The 5770 GPU has 2 mini display ports and a DVI port.
     
  4. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #4
    yikes Im a victim of not reading your whole post :)
    yes if it does have an DVI port which it does since I have a 5770 right beside me :) sorry I was thinking back on the dual 24s I set up at work and had this issue where we only had one miniDisplay port converter.
    For Dual DVI you need to plug the USB for power.
    For the 24, only if want to use the display as a USB and Firewire HUB.
     
  5. Broc27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #5
    mBox, seems like you are mistaking the 24" cinema display for the old 23".

    SteelBlue, you won't need any adapter; I'm using this display (along with a 27") with a 2010 Mac Pro and it works perfectly, no hassle, nothing else needed.
     
  6. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #6
    yes and no. the 24" if you plan on using two of them requires one converter.
    but if you have an older mac Pro and plan on using the 5770/5870, you cant use the DVI port according to Apple (trust me, we went thru hell and back with that one) so you will need two.
    For the op, he is good to go.
    My bad, like i said, had duals on my mind :)
     
  7. SteelBlueTJ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Thanks. Yea I figured it would work, but just wanted to make sure. I plan to keep my current Asus 22" and use it as a secondary monitor.
     
  8. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #8
    Yea sorry about that. Ive been burned a few times with the Apple displays via dual set-ups in the last few years that its burned in me to keep adding that damn 100+ converter :p
    It gets worse when you use Dual 30s with a Gefen DVIDL 2X2 (two displays with two Mac Pro's) :p
     
  9. SteelBlueTJ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Just wondering how long are the cables that come with the cinema displays? Particularly the 24"? I heard they are awful short especially for Mac Pro users who keep their machine under a desk. I was thinking about getting a 6ft mini display extension cable.I have a feeling I'll need it since my machine is about 5-6 feet away down on the floor? 6ft + how ever long the cables are on the display should be enough (hopefully).
     
  10. Mr Ski 73 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #10
    Cables are not long enough but you can get a cheap extension cable for both minidisplayport and USB from Amazon.

    The other connection is mains for charging your MBP which I assume you will not use
     
  11. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #11
    Not long enough. We have issues with workstations not using a Gefen splitter box (for dual 30s/computers).
    Since its a 24" you can use any decent working DVI extender.
    Not so much with 30"s :(
    It gets dumb with the Apple 27s. To get that to work in the above set-up you have to blow 300 bucks on their miniDisplay to DVI converter :p
    The Apple 100 plus option is backwards.
    Sucks.
     
  12. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #12
    24" ACD uses mDP ports. The HD5770 has 2 mDP ports. In fact this setup (2x 24 + MP) was pretty common.
     
  13. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #13
    My assumption with the op was that it was DVI.
    There was a gap where we didnt buy any displays from Apple so no experience of a 24 with mDP ports. Our first is the crappy glossy 27s.
     
  14. aliennerd macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #14
    I'm running two 24" Apple LED displays from a 5770 in a Mac Pro 1,1 which has two mini display ports and one DVI. The cables are short but USB and Mini DP extender cables are cheap and easy to get hold of.
     

Share This Page