Will the 6 core 512 work for me?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by richard371, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. richard371 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #1
    Just ordered the basic 6-core with 512 SSD. I run VMware fusion with a domain controller (server 2008 R2), Exchange 2010 server, a coupe of clients for studying. At least 4 VMS running at once but not 24/7 Im also into Xplane 10 with all features turned to the max but don't play many games otherwise. Yea it is a bit pricy for a non pro and my friend ask if i really need it.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Seems like maybe over-kill to me, but then I can't afford one but if I could I'd buy one.

    So let me get to the bottom line, if you want one get one, I don't think you need convincing to help you justify the cost. :D
     
  3. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #3
    Sounds like the quad core would be fine for such a light load.

    Mostly idle VMs don't use much other than memory. Turn on hyper-threading, and don't give any VM more than 2 cores.

    I assume that your PDC is only used by a few test clients. Doesn't matter for the CPU load, but if production users depend on the PDC you have some potential issues.
     
  4. mrsavage1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #4
    Get a 4 core 32 gb ram d700. D700s should be a lot more useful in xplane than more cpu cores. vm's will run fine with 4 core.
     

Share This Page