Will the current Air 'feel' faster than the iMac i5 2.8?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by sukanas, Sep 5, 2011.

1. sukanas macrumors 6502a

sukanas

So i currently have the 13" air i5 and am planning on getting the thunderbolt display. But after counting the costs, it seems like I can get almost the same (+100) with the current 27" imac and a refurb 11" air. I'm a college student so portability is only sometimes important. I am on the desk w/ a dell monitor (ips) most of the time though.

I had the late 2008 mbp and have pretty much been on the 9400m graphics even when using aperture and cs5. i don't do anything graphic or cpu intensive and if I do, its not to the industrial/business level. so waiting that extra minute isn't gonna kill me or add up.

However, getting an ACTUAL quad core i5 (the air i5 is a dual core) is really temping. plus on top of that Ill get legit graphics which won't hurt having. PLUS, ill have an 11" air (for school use ie. docs and web) which is even MORE portable for travel. the only downside of getting the imac 27" base is no SSD.

I feel like most of the time with the use im using for a computer, Ill notice more of the difference in the speed w/ an SSD rather than CPU/Graphics. Since I'm running basic apps most of the time, mail/safari/itunes/iphoto/aperture, the SSD will come in handy way more than an overly powered CPU would be.

what do you guys think?
    oh and keep costs difference out. i will essentially spend the same w/ either setup (ill sell my bluetooth keyboard/trackpad if i get the imac)

2. Yumunum macrumors 65816

Yumunum