Will the Genius Bar Transfer my Old HDD to my New Computer for Free?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hrothgar, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. Hrothgar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I thought that if I bought a new MBP the genius bar would would transfer my old HD to it and make sure it was all good and running. Or is this part of the $99 "one to one" service?
     
  2. theipadkid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #2
    if ur buying a new macbook then i think they should be able to.

    its not hard to do it urself, as long as u have an external hard drive which is a must these days for backing ocmputers
     
  3. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
  4. Hrothgar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    I do have an external WD drive and Time Machine. But when I tried to restore from time machine onto a new internal HDD a while back it got screwed up.

    But, thanks. I guess this means I don't need the $99 service.
     
  5. theipadkid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #5
    u dont have to use time machine
     
  6. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #6
    are you saying transfer the data on the drive or physically remove the new one and stick in your current one?

    if your current HD is 2.5" SATA than ya just remove the new one and replace with your current
     
  7. Hrothgar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Yes, I'm pretty sure my current one is a 2.5" SATA. But it's 500 GB instead of 750 GB (although maybe smaller is better since it's not close to full?). And when I opened up my last MBP to put in the 500 GB drive, it didn't quite go back the way it started. I'd rather not open up and replace the HDD on a new machine if I don't have to.
     
  8. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #8
    Maybe you should just take both computers to the genius and ask..
     
  9. RedRallyeZ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #9
    They will not do it for free.

    One to one I believe includes the transfer from one computer to another. I don't think they do external Hard drive transfers.
     
  10. rw3 macrumors 6502a

    rw3

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #10
    Use an Ethernet Cable and Launch Migration Assistant on the old computer...once at the Transfer screen in Lion, plug in the ethernet cable to both machines....pretty simple.
     
  11. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #11
    That was part of the $99 One to One service. Your data had to be on an old system that booted.

    http://www.apple.com/retail/onetoone/

    Check out the Get Set Up section.
     

Share This Page