Will the GPS still work with 3G account inactive?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by eq2675, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. eq2675 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    #1
    Will the GPS still work with the 3G AT&T account inactive?
     
  2. xraytech macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #2
    No

    Unless you are connected to the Internet via Wi-Fi.
     
  3. Star56 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #3
    This is the about the seven hundreth time this has been asked and answered on this forum :(

    Yes,
     
  4. Star56 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #4
    What you understand is wrong. The 3G GPS functions perfectly without 3G or wifi. It is a regular GPS just like a Garmin, The assist part will not work but that just means it will take a few more moments to lock onto your position. Otherwise it is a regular GPS no 3G or Wifi is needed.
     
  5. ovrlrd macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #5
    You are wrong, it will work, however certain mapping apps that require an internet connection to work (like Google Maps) will require Wi-Fi (or 3G data).
     
  6. Ciclismo macrumors 6502a

    Ciclismo

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    To sum up:

    GPS is an independant system that does not require any other connection, such as WiFi or 3G in order to determine your co-ordinates.

    You will, however, require an internet connection in order to download map data in the Map app. You can avoid this by using a programme that stores complete maps on your iPad.

    You will also notice that without the assistance of cellular and WiFi locationing services that the initial position acquisition will take considerably longer, as well as reduced functioning in areas of high interference - that is the beuty of AGPS - a multiple systems approach to supplementing GPS functioning to increase positioning acquisition speed and accuracy.
     
  7. xraytech macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #7
    I'm half wrong.

    The GPS works independent of data but to put that in context you need to download maps. If you do not have the ability to download maps, all you will have are longitude and latitude.
     
  8. Ciclismo macrumors 6502a

    Ciclismo

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    ;)
     

Share This Page