Will the iMac G3 Work Overseas (220 Volts)?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by BubbaMonkey, May 2, 2009.

  1. BubbaMonkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #1
    I have a slot-loading iMac G3 and am wondering if it will explode when I plug it into my wall?
     
  2. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #2
    You can get one of those world travel voltage adapter kits.

    However, most PC power supplies have a 220/110 switch. The iMacs power supply may automatically switch or have a switch available if you open up the case. But I am not too sure on that point.
     
  3. BubbaMonkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #3
    Yeah, I almost bought one today, but decided to make sure the iMac doesn't have the adapter built in.

    Thanks!
     
  4. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    From Apple

    Link
     
  5. BubbaMonkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for that! I'll go plug it in and see what happens.
     
  6. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #6
    :eek:

    I'd just like to add a comment saying I take no responsibility for damage
    :D
     
  7. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #7
    Please make sure you have a camera at the ready when you plug it in. Would be a shame not to get pics of a Mac blowing up. :D
     
  8. BubbaMonkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #8
    Well it worked for a while...

    then it exploded
     

Share This Page