Will the Logitech Tablet Keyboard for iPad work with the Mac Mini?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by lsquare, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. lsquare macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #1
    http://www.logitech.com/en-us/1200/8214

    I'm thinking of buying this keyboard for my iPad 2. However, I won't be using this with my iPad all the time so I can't quite justify the expense for this keyboard. I also intend to get a Mac Mini to use as a HTPC. Will this keyboard work with it including the function keys? If so, then I'll get a lot more out of the keyboard.
     
  2. tguilliams macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #2
    It's bluetooth so it should, in theory, work with any device with bluetooth. You may have to re-pair it between devices each time but other than that, everything should work functionally the same.
     
  3. lsquare thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #3
    I think there are some Mac specific keys so I just want to confirm that it'll work with the Mac OS.
     
  4. pat park macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #4
    according to the reviews on the Logitech page, one user claimed it did work with their MacBook Pro.
     
  5. lsquare thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #5
    Did the Mac specific keys work though?
     
  6. pinchy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #6
    Yes, but there's no escape key - there's a home key in its spot. I'm sort of in the same camp you are. Can you re-map it?

    And if you dual boot, can you get the home key to be an escape key in Win7?
     
  7. lsquare thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I'm not sure. Do you have the keyboard? Can you rest it out?
     
  8. sujkha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #8
    I've liked that keyboard so much that I also wanted to use it with my computer, but I primarily use windows 7. But there is a lot of problems you mentioned, no functional ( F1, F2, F5 etc ) keys, no escape key, no delete key.
    After doing some research I came up with a solution and wrote a guide with screenshots and such :
    http://alsoko.net/logitech-tablet-keyboard-for-ipad-key-remapping/

    If you are using osX you can try using TextExpander, Controllermate, keyboardmaestro or ironAHK as a mac alternative for AutoHotkey
    enjoy!
     
  9. LancashireArrow macrumors newbie

    LancashireArrow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    #9
    I can confirm this works well with a Macbook Pro. There are no function keys, as mentioned, but there is Esc - you just press fn-Home.

    I don't particularly use the F-keys so for me it is perfect.
     

Share This Page