will the new pro have bootable raid standard?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by X1Lightning, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. X1Lightning macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    What do you think? will the new mac pro have bootable raid built into the motherboard?
    I think its pretty lame that you have to buy a 1000$ card to make that happen now....
     
  2. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Not until Intel supports it in their Intel® 632xESB I/O Controller Hubs.

    If Apple were to step up to the 5400 Chipset at least they would get PCIe 2.0 support.

    EDIT: Check out this datasheet [7mb]. On page 229 it talks about RAID options with the controller hub. So it looks like the ball was in Apples court to actually utilize the option. They chose not to.
     
  3. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #3
    thanks for the link, hopefully they will do something about it in the next round...
     
  4. deathshrub macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Christmas Island
    #4
    No.
     
  5. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Well, you _can_ set up a bootable RAID with the current MacPro (or anything from G4 onwards), so long as what you want is a RAID mirror. OS X has supported that in software for some considerable time (I have an old G4-400 that boots from a RAID 1 array using the built-in controller).

    RAID 5 is another matter, though =]
     

Share This Page