Will the SuperDrive work with AirPort Extreme?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Yr Blues, May 21, 2008.

  1. Yr Blues macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #1
    Can you plug it into the AirPort Extreme and not have to plug it into the MPA every you need to?
     
  2. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #2
    No.
     
  3. imapfsr macrumors regular

    imapfsr

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C.
    #3
    Yr Blues,
    I was wondering the same thing but with my Time Capsule. I plugged it into the TC and no luck, you need the MBA to power up the SuperDrive. Sorry !!!
     
  4. Yr Blues thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
  5. glitch44 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #5
    not enough power through the airport extreme port? what about a third party drive in an enclosure that has its own plug in power supply?
     
  6. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #6
    No.

    But you can share almost any DVD/CD drive attached to a Mac or Windows PC on your network using Remote Disc DVD or CD Sharing.
     
  7. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    Huh?

    Please take your hand off the keyboard.

    Slap yourself.

    Think about what you just did.

    Slap yourself again.

    Resume typing.
     

Share This Page