Will the upgrade to 8gb ram be worth it for a web designer/developer?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aaron118, Apr 18, 2010.

1. aaron118 macrumors newbie

I am about to order my first Mac and im looking to buy the new Macbook Pro 17" core i7 and im wondering whether to just go all out and pay the extra to get the full 8gb ram. I am a web designer and developer so I use a lot of applications like Photoshop and other development tools, im going for the 17" for the screen real estate and im not worried about carrying the extra weight for the 17". But I just want to know if you guys would recommend the ram upgrade and would I notice a difference with it or not? I will also use my laptop to enjoy movies and all my other day to day things like browsing etc.

Thanks

2. Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

Ice Dragon

If you are opting for the 17", go for the 8 GB. Add an Intel SSD as well.

3. spgiva macrumors regular

spgiva

It is hard to know without knowing exactly what programs you use but 2 pieces of info

1. Generally apple charges a good deal more for their RAM upgrades then anyone else.

2. You can always upgrade later the cost of memory only goes down.

So I would say get the 4gb, and if you feel like it is too slow, get it upgraded later either for the same price that apple asks for on the website at an apple store, or bye RAM from a vendor (MacMall, iFixit, NewEgg, TigerDirect to name a few) and install it yourself and save some money.

Good luck
    -spg

4. aaron118 thread starter macrumors newbie

Does it void the warranty if you install 3rd party ram?

5. csnplt macrumors 6502

csnplt

No.

6. aaron118 thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok well after looking around and Crucial for example want £380 for the 8gb ram kit (2 x 4gb) which is what I would need to replace the standard 2 x 2gb ram, this works out with Apple being cheaper, where should I be looking for this cheaper ram?

Thanks

7. therealseebs macrumors 65816

therealseebs