Will there be a new Airport Express (for 802.11n)?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by msharp, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. msharp macrumors regular

    msharp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    #1
    The same as the title.

    I'm just planning to get one so I'm not sure to wait or just get it. It seems that the Airport Express should be updated, isn't it?
     
  2. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #2
    I would think so. One or its main features is the Airtunes. Maybe on the 5th?
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Did you not do a search? We just had a thread on this. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=349270

    IMHO, the express does its job just as it is. The price is now out of line, however, and it requires mixed mode networks. I hope that it is upgraded but things like this can remain as they are for a long time, years even.
     
  4. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #4
    I don't see the need for it. 802.11g is more than suffecient for streaming uncompressed audio.

    As a travel router you don't need 802.11n either. It eventually will be updated to 802.11n, but I don't think it will happen very soon.
     
  5. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #5
    It would be nice for those of us who use WDS to extend our networks. As of now, an 802.11n base station's speed is downgraded in order to allow the express to extend the network.
     
  6. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Some people use their network for more than internet and music sharing.
     
  7. Evangelion macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #7
    Well, I would like to move from G-network to N-network. And I would like to have Airport Express as a network-extender as well as AirTunes-device. And if I moved to N-network right now, the Airport Express would slow it down, since connecting G-spec devices to N-spec network causes the entire network to slow down to G-speeds.

    There are few options I see:

    a) Airport Express gets upgraded with N-spec network and HDMI-port for video-streaming as well as audio

    b) iPod HiFi gets updated with built-in N-specced Airport Express, so you could stream music straight to the device without having to attach a iPod to it. It would also act as a network-extender.

    I think either of those options would be very, very cool :). And option B would turn the HiFi from "meh"-product in to something unique and desireable.

    Of course there's also option C: Apple does nothing and quietly kills off Airport Express.
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    a) :apple:TV

    you forgot d) Apple continues to sell express as it is.
     
  9. Evangelion macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #9
    Nope. AppleTV is a "smart" device that can be used interactively by the person sitting on the couch. HDMI-enabled Airport Express would be a dumb device that would just stream content from other sources. You could not sync to it, you could not access the content with a remote on your couch, there would be no UI to interact with, you could not access YouTube... The whole usage-paradigm is totally different.

    That would imply killing it off.
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    You would still need a fairly hefty CPU (at least heftier than the current Express CPU) and an HDMI-capable video card. The cost would push it too close to :apple:TV to justify it.
     
  11. Evangelion macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #11
    Do you if you simply stream the signal, while the heavy lifting is done on the computer that does the streaming?
     
  12. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #12
    Yeah I can see a new one sometime...

    'N'

    Network link can act as a bridge.

    HDMI would rock but I dont see it.

    Maybe gigabit.
     
  13. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #13
    Yes.
     
  14. The Stig macrumors 6502a

    The Stig

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    On the track
    #14
    I want one to run a N-network. I have the N base station but I have a couple of AEs through out the house for itunes and network reasons, so it takes the base station off of N and makes it G :(

    It is a complete waste to have a N router but not be able to run N because of the G AEs. Apple has to make a N-AE in the future (maybe when N is no longer draft) or the AE will just become useless. I'm not buying an AE until they come out with an N-version. It would be nice if they ran a HD too... :)

    The Stig
     

Share This Page