Will these RAM cards work in MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Garbag3man117, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. Garbag3man117 macrumors member

    Garbag3man117

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #1
    Hi. Even though Apple says the early 2011 MBP's only support 8GB of RAM, I've read they actually support 16GB. As there is only 2 RAM card slots, I looked around, and found the cheapest cards. They are from Newegg.com located here. Can anyone tell me if they will fit in the MBP? It looks like they will, here are the specs:

    2 x 8GB
    240-PIN
    DDR3 SDRAM
    "ECC Registered DDR3" (Can anyone tell me what that is?)
    PC3 10600
    "Server Memory Model KVR1333D3D4R9SK2/16G" ("Can anyone tell me what this is too?")

    Just if you need to know, this will be in either the 15 or 17 inch MBP with 2.3GHz i7. Will those cards work in the system? Thanks.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    No, they will not, for two reasons. First, they are desktop sized memory, and are too big to fit in the computer. Second, the ECC means that it only works with workstation processors (Xeon). If you want 16GB (probably unnecessary), you'll be looking at about $1400 for the upgrade. You need DDR3 1333MHz 204-pin SODIMMs. here is an example.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
  4. BiggAW macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #4
    What's a "ram card"? And no, you can't go sticking registered ECC ram in a machine that uses unregistered non-ECC ram, and at the wrong capacity to boot.

    EDIT: HA, didn't even catch that they were full DIMMs, and no SO-DIMMs. Sheesh, I read this forum way too fast!
     
  5. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Nope, those are desktop cards. 16gb of RAM is going to be really expensive, why do you need it in the first place? 8GB of RAM is plenty even for pretty intensive work, 16gb is really overkill unless you are doing some pretty heavy work.
     
  6. Garbag3man117 thread starter macrumors member

    Garbag3man117

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #6
    Ok guys, thanks for your replies. I've decided that 16GB is too much. I'm going to go with some 3rd party 8GB RAM cards. I wish Newegg would state the dimensions. If I decide that I need 8GB, and I probably won't, Ill wait until the prices go down.

    I'm going to get this set of cards. Are they compatible? I believe so. Thanks!
     
  7. dsio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Yeap, should be fine.

    BTW the Intel Xenon in your sig might be worth upgrading to an Argon at some point. Its significantly lighter. :)
     
  8. Garbag3man117 thread starter macrumors member

    Garbag3man117

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #8
    Lol probably a good idea but the computer in my sig broke. i just havent bothered changing.
     
  9. BiggAW macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
  10. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
  11. Garbag3man117 thread starter macrumors member

    Garbag3man117

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #11
    How is that?
     
  12. BiggAW macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #12
    Just the stupid posts about "ram cards" and such that barely make any sense. It's a short thread, and I can't figure out all of what's going on.
     

Share This Page