Will this fit?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by icedmocha, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. icedmocha macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #1
  2. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #2
    Yes both will fit fine, you'll see a very nice performance boost with the RAM and as for the hard drive, I have the same on and have had no troubles after a good 3 months of usage.
     
  3. gamer2502 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    near Pittsburgh,pa
    #3
    the hard drive will fit but what machine do you have because the old macbook and macbook pros and imacs will only take 2gb of ram:apple:
     
  4. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #4
    Looking at the OP's attached pic, it's a Core 2 Duo. It'll support the 4 gigs.

    Edit: But it seems that if it's not the Santa Rosa chipset, it will only be able to use 3.3GB of the 4GB.
     
  5. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #5
    Both will definitely work and as Skorpien said, you'll only get the use of about 3.3GB of the 4GB you're putting in. Gamer2502 is referring to the Core Duo (aka First Gen) that will only handle 2GB max and won't even boot if more is put in.

    Here's a plug for WD: The Scorpio Blue (posted above) is good, but the Scorpio Black is great. Is it worth the extra $32 for 7200 RPM vs 5400 and 16 MB Cache vs 8 MB? I think so. -GDF
     
  6. icedmocha thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #6
    According to the OWC site I can only go up to 2gb. I may call them tomorrow. I have a macbook, it looks like mbp's go up to 4gb. Thanks for the info :)
    Is there a big difference between 7200rpm drive and a 5400?
     
  7. eman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    In the great white north
    #7
    The 1.83 will only take 2Gb of ram.
     
  8. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #8
    You can put in a 4GB set (2 x 2GB) because you have a Core 2 Duo. According to the OWC site, see this page.

    There is quite a difference between the 7200 rpm and the 5400 rpm as I posted before. The extra $32 in my opinion is well worth the speed increase. Hard drive access time is much quicker.
     
  9. icedmocha thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #9
    Did I do this right? OWC said that only 2GB fits, but this is what I now have (2gb module, plus second first module):
    [​IMG]
    FWIW, I have this macbook:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Zjzv-mJxFY
    HD update tonight.
     
  10. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #10
    Looks right to me. You had 512MB originally, right? So half of that is 256MB, plus the 2GB, and you get 2.25GB (remember, 1024MB = 1GB, so 256MB = 0.25GB).

    If you're referring to how they say it's only 2GB RAM max, as was previously mentioned, the Core 2 Duo 1.83 MHz machines can support up to 3.3GB. It's only the Core Duo machines that max out at 2GB.
     
  11. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #11
    They'll fit but I think they make your ass look big. :D
     
  12. icedmocha thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #12
    It seems that whenever I sleep the macbook and open it, it restarts :confused:
     

Share This Page