Will this game's (Mass Effect) specs work on on new MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by andyberger87, Jun 9, 2008.

  1. andyberger87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #1
    Will these recommended specs on Mass Effect be sufficient if I have a new MBP?

    Min-Spec Recommended-Spec Internet Connection: Required Required OS Windows XP / Vista Windows XP / Vista Processor 2.4+ GHz Intel or 2.0+ GHz AMD 2.6+ GHz Intel or 2.4+ GHz AMD Memory 1GB RAM (XP)/2GB Ram (Vista) 2GB RAM Video Card NVIDIA GeForce 6 series (6800 GT or better), ATI X1300 XT or better (X1550, X1600 Pro and HD2400 are below minimum system requirements) ATI X1800 XL series or higher, NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTX or higher Hard Drive Space English: 12 GB
    French, Italian, German: 14 GB English: 12 GB
    French, Italian, German: 14 GB Sound Card 100% DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card and drivers 100% DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card and drivers – 5.1 sound card recommended
     
  2. ert3 macrumors 6502a

    ert3

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #2
    I just got done playing it on mine and will be playing back through it again soon.

    word to the wise though go in and change the settings. the default filtering sucks eggs. use antistrophic.
     
  3. andyberger87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #3
    Ok, but how does the game play and look? I am really wanting an Alienware M15x but would consider (again) a MBP if it can handle games like Crysis and Mass Effect.
     
  4. kamiboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #4
    For Satan's sake, get yourself a PS3 and play games as they were supposed to be played. While you are at it pick up a copy of Uncharted and MGS4 too (about 500$). Then take the money you saved by not buying a overpriced piece of hardware ill suited for playing games and put it up towards a nice SONY or Samsung 1080p 40" LCD (about 1500$, maybe even less).

    Trust me, you'll never look back.
     
  5. booksacool1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Nah, skip the PS3 and get something more versatile. I'd suggest you grab/build a low spec pc with 4gb ram and a 9600gt. Should run it really well. Then you really will see how the game was supposed to be played.
    With a KB/Mouse :D
     
  6. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #6
    Mass Effect needs an Xbox 360, not PS3...

    Mass Effect looks great when I play on my 2.5GHz 15" MBP. I play it in a 1680x1050 window on my external monitor because I like to have a chat window open at the same time, too. I haven't had any major problems playing the game so far.

    Crysis needs much beefier video than any Mac (even Pro) can provide to play at the highest settings, but then you need a really high end PC to perform that feat anyway. You'd spend a lot more for the PC than a MBP to meet the needs of Crysis. At lower settings for Crysis I've heard it plays well on the MBP. I have no personal experience there since I don't have that game.
     
  7. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #7
    Crysis runs pretty smoothly at medium with a resolution under 1024x768. If you can stand the slightly pixelated image, then its a fun game. :)
     
  8. kamiboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #8
    I know, I was just suggesting he might want to try something new and play some actually good games for a change.
     

Share This Page