Will this iMac run Pixelmator?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MartinAppleGuy, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #1
    Here are my specs -

    iMac 2013 2.9Ghz-3.6Ghz i5, 8Gb RAM, 1Gb GDDR5 VRAM, Geforce GT 750m.

    Will it run Pixelmator? Will it deteriorate lifespan of the computer drastically (i.e does it have high CPU usage?)?
     
  2. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    Yes it will will run. And no it won't damage the computer if that's what you mean by deteriorating lifespan.
     
  3. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #3
    That will run it quite well.
    Pixelmator won't max out your CPU for any length of time. But even if it did, that would not damage a well designed computer (which I believe this iMac is).
     
  4. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #4
    Thanks :)

    ----------

    What I meant was: is it an intensive program? I don't plan to push it with all the features it has? Or will it be just like watching HD Youtube videos, or creating a presentation in Keynote?
     
  5. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #5
    It depends on what you do with it. If you apply filter after filter to 20MP images, then, yes, it'll ramp up the CPU cycles. If, like most apps, it's simply waiting for human input for the majority of it's time, then, no, it will not abnormally stress your machine.

    Don't worry, your iMac can handle a 100% CPU load for an extended amount of time without exploding.
     
  6. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #6
    Thanks. It is just I want to get as many years possible out of my first Mac :)
     
  7. fig macrumors 6502a

    fig

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    My wife's 2010 white Macbook runs Pixelmator comfortably, so you're good :)
     
  8. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #8
    Thanks :)
     
  9. slayerizer macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    my 2008 iMac runs PixelMator very well (lastest 3.1). No issue. This is a great piece of software.
     
  10. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #10
    Thank you :) All experiences welcome :)
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    My old (now my wife's) 2010 13" MBP with an integrated GPU handled Pixelmator very well. A very nice application that has grown in functionality but not really too much bloatware.
     
  12. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #12
    Thanks for your experience :) Would you then say that it is not very drama ding software? I'm guessing that as long as I'm not using a lot of RAW images, RAM consumption should be low, and CPU should be low unless applying big effects?

    ----------

    Am I also right in thinking this is a lot less demanding than exporting 1080p in iMovie or encoding with Handbrake?

    ----------

    Is that on Mavericks?
     
  13. slayerizer macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    yes PixelMator 3.1 requires OSX 10.9.1 (.1 is important)

    but I do have the beta 10.9.2! :)
     

Share This Page