Will this Macbook Pro suite my needs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shakeman0, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. shakeman0 macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #1
    If I purchase the 2.26ghz standard 13" model with 2gb of ram will it be fast enough and have enough ram to do everyday tasks and website design? I also need it to last around 4 years. I really want it to be fast. Do I really need 4gb of ram and the upgraded processor?
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    Any item of the Mac line will be fine for everyday tasks. For website design, are you doing the code or the graphics? For graphics, you may want a larger screen.

    I believe it will be plenty fast enough.
     
  3. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    It would be fast and powerful enough but I would like an external monitor if you program with multiple windows.
     
  4. Jeffrosproto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
  5. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #5
  6. Snowbound macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #6
    4gb ram is perhaps the cheapest and most cost effective upgrade. If you decide to do that, you'll be perfectly fine.
     
  7. Some Guy 555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #7
    For ~$60 upgrade to 4gb of ram and you are set. Not that you will need 4gb, but its really a cheap upgrade so why not?
     
  8. shakeman0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #8
    I can't get the 4gb of ram right now. Can I get them to upgrade later if I take it to an Apple store? Although, I really don't think ill need the 4gb of ram anyway.
     
  9. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #9
    If you feel you don't need 4GB of RAM, save your money. I think the Apple Store can upgrade the RAM to 4GB for you for $100.
     
  10. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Or you can do it yourself for $70.
     
  11. shakeman0 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #11
    Does installing the ram by yourself void the warranty? I do plan on purchasing the apple care protection plan.
     
  12. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #12
    No it does not void your warranty, but if you need to send it in for repairs, put back the original RAM because Apple will steal your 3rd party RAM.
     
  13. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #13
    Apple didn't do that to my two MacBooks that went in for repairs. But it's easier to get repairs done because otherwise they have to check the RAM and see that it's not defective or caused the damage.
     
  14. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #14
    My machines have been into Apple only a few times... the last time though, I almost left without checking my machine and sure enough I was down to 2 gigs. They were good about it but I don't know how easy it would have been to get my 4 gig back had I left already.

    OP: That machine will be just fine. I did exactly what your asking about on a white macbook with 2 gigs. If you want to upgrade later then go for it. For now, you'll be just fine! :D
     
  15. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    i bought the new 15 inch with 4GB ram and i do a lot of graphic design. photoshop and illustrator run great on here. yours should work fine for everyday tasks but i think getting 4GB ram would really help on the web design.
     
  16. entity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #16
    +1. Apple even takes your stock memory when they do the upgrade. They call it a discount, something like $15 a chip, haha.
     

Share This Page