Will this new MacPro be enough for my needs?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AppleWorking, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. AppleWorking macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I am going to be placing an order for this new MacPro:

    One 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    3GB (3x1GB)
    640GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB
    One 18x SuperDrive
    Apple Mighty Mouse
    Apple Wireless Keyboard (English) and User's Guide
    AirPort Extreme Wi-Fi Card with 802.11n

    I was wondering if this machine would be enough for my needs? I do most of my work in OmniGraffle, OmniOutliner, and iWork (Pages).

    I also want to be able to run Snow Leopard and Windows 7 when they are released.

    I only play games occasionally.

    I would think a machine with these specs would be okay for what I use it for, but I’m really not sure, which is why I need some advice. I’m especially concerned about the 3 GB Ram. Do you think I will need more ram to run Snow Leopard, Windows 7, and an occasional game under Windows? Will I experience a major slow down with this little ram?

    Thank you for your help!
     
  2. PeterQC macrumors 6502a

    PeterQC

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #2
    What is OmniGraffle and OmniOutliner?

    IMO your better with the high end iMac. The ram are user upgradeable on the Mac Pro and a lot cheaper then what Apple offer. I don't know for the iMac.
     
  3. gzfelix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Charlottetown, PE
    #3
    Get an iMac instead. You don't really need Mac Pro.
     
  4. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    Wait until Apple change the case design this summer.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    They can't/won't. :confused:
     
  6. kevink2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #6
    You didn't mention whether you will use Boot Camp for Windows or virtualization.

    Or whether it would be the 64 bit or 32 bit version of Windows. My experience is that the 32 bit version of Windows will only see 2GB of RAM with boot camp.
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    That's correct. You will absolutely want a 64-bit version of Windows if you are running a Mac Pro.

    Heck, you'll want one if you're running an iMac, since they can take up to eight GB themselves.
     
  8. nicolasmasset macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #8
    Hi guys,

    What about me?
    I'm looking to buy one for logic & ableton live with many cpu hungry plugins!
    Should I get the single core, or octo 2,26?

    Nicolas
     
  9. Shaved Kitty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #9
    Tallest Skil.......

    you were TOTALLY wrong about the Mac Pro. Hahahhaa....
    you think you know everything, but dude... Mac Pro released WAY before the summer.

    Now my question for you. What about the snow leopard???
     
  10. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    *looks at calendar* *sees that March is three months before summer* *looks at own signature* *smiles*

    For once, I'm happy that I was wrong. ;)

    Release date announcement at WWDC, just like Steve said.

    Release date from June 31st to September 30th.
     

Share This Page