Will this RAM work in new iMacs? PC2-5300S-555

Discussion in 'iMac' started by slffl, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. slffl macrumors 65816

    slffl

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    I have some old sticks of RAM which I'd like to put into some new iMacs. I can't remember if I got them from previous iMacs or macbooks, but on the sticker it says

    1GB 2Rx8 PC2 - 5300S - 555 - 12 - E3

    They are Samsung brand. Are these 667 mhz DDR2 SDRAM that's currently in my iMac?
     
  2. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    If you have a 2nd generation aluminum imac, don't put it in. The memory controller might slow down, or it might speed up that stick of memory to the controller's preferred speed, which would be very unfortunate, because then your imac would cease to function until you took the memory out.
     
  3. dindles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #3
    Opposite

    Hello, i have the opposite problem.

    I have a G4 Mac Cube and the same ( Samsung 1gb 2rx8 pc2-5300S-555-12-E3 ) RAM ( I have 2 of 1GB Each).

    Can I put this RAM in the CUBE without blowing it up?

    Thank you!
    :)
     
  4. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Is it the right kind of RAM? What does the cube need?
     
  5. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota

Share This Page