Will this RAM work in the 27" iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gmanist1000, May 16, 2011.

  1. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
  2. theking79 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #2
  3. gmanist1000 thread starter macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #3
    Well, I have a $100 Best Buy gift card that I am wanting to use up, I have found another item from Best Buy, I am pretty sure this one will work but can you confirm it?

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Corsair...+Kit/1623588.p?id=1218273846150&skuId=1623588

    Also, just curious, why does it require laptop RAM if it is a desktop?
     
  4. dfine1966 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    #4
    Here is the link to Apples iMac memory specifications. This is for the new mid 2011 iMac. Here is the link. This will tell you all you need to know of what type of memory to use.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4621
     
  5. iRobby macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #5


    It requires a laptop RAM because they are cooler less heat. Since it is in the monitor (All in One) no tower Apple uses the cooler RAMs vs the traditional Desktop ones used in towers.
     
  6. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #6
  7. gmanist1000 thread starter macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #7
    Great, thanks a lot!
     

Share This Page