Will this video card work with my Mac Pro? - GTX750

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CanadaMaple, Jun 14, 2015.

  1. CanadaMaple macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #1
  2. CanadaMaple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #2
    My main thing, is I'd like to modernize my Mac Pro with a few upgrades, I want something compatible with Metal, but don't want to spend more than 200$ CAD on a video card. I don't game, so thats not an issue here.
     
  3. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #3
    me, I would stick with EVGA 750 and maybe save up and "splurge" on GTX 960 $US199) or 970 when the time is ripe.
     
  4. CanadaMaple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #4
    So it looks like here, I can get an EVGA 960 for 239$ CAD (About right, considering USD is worth 20% more at the moment).

    Can the 960 be flashed for boot screen, and is it 2*6 pin connectors?

    Obviously this would be a major improvement over the GT750, never mind the GT120?

    Looking at this specific one
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=43_1200_557_559&item_id=080466

    Thanks

    -CanadaMaple
     
  5. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #5
    Sticky on Nvidia

    "Nvidia GTX 960"

    The 2008 3,1 is going to hold back graphic performance some according to some of the tests I saw on Barefeats.com and of course FBDIMMs and those two PCIe 1.1 4x slots are less than perfect some of the time.

    Putting a Samsung SM951 seems to be one of the best popular enhancemets here in 2015 should you get the bug (to upgrade something!)
     
  6. CanadaMaple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #6
    Yeah. I already have a Kingston SSD installed via OWC Adaptadrive, I may get an Apricom or Sonnet PCIe-SATA3. That was an amazing difference, my machine now boots in about 8 seconds.

    My main thing for now, is any upgrade I put in this from now on, needs to be compatible with a 2010/2012, since thats what I will replace this with when funds allow.
    Get a dual 8 2010/12 and stuff it to the gills (dual X5690's etc).
    Thats the eventual plan anyways.

    Still probably a much better card than the GT120 thats still installed.
    Thanks!

    -CanadMaple
     
  7. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #7
    My money with Sonnet Tempo SSD was not well spent. The XP941 is awesome (1,1 using 8x slot). If you want to continue being able to use standard SSD but SATA III speed (1/3 to 1/4th SM951 and later) look at threads on Apricorn - but with your eye out for 3,1 of course.

    That upgrade bug and 4,1/5,1 seems to be going around :)
     
  8. CanadaMaple thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    #8
    That's pretty good to know about Sonnet, thanks.

    I'll probably go SM951 form later, when sizes increase/price decreases. I have 3 HDD's for storage though, so maybe ill go lower capacity.

    4,1 and 5,1 still go for quite a decent amount here. Hence why I haven't made the jump yet. I was thinking of getting a 4,1 and doing the firmware upgrade, but the delidded CPU requirement scares me there. Since I definitely will want to go to X5690's.

    And once the firmware is upgraded, other than the delidded CPU's do you know if theirs any other differences from a 4,1 to a 5,1? Since I heard you can install the faster memory that the 5,1 uses (1333mhz I believe) once the firmware has been updated.

    I'm starting to feel that my 3,1 is getting long in the tooth, especially as its my daily production machine, which provides my income. If I get a 4,1/5,1 I can keep it as a back-up.

    Thanks
    CanadaMaple
     
  9. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    a
    I don't believe there are any other differences between the 4,1 and 5,1 other than the SMC Firmware version, which appears to be insignificant.
     
  10. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #10
    I was and still am convinced from Barefeats and attempts to get max bandwidth, that a 2012 or even 2010 does have better PCIe controller versus 2009. Slot #3 & 4 if used together in 2009 hardware motherboard; slight (very small but measurable) in GPU performance (at the high end only?). Not deal breaker, but I would hope and even expect tweaks and better chipset parts.

    A cMP but with PCIe 3.0 would of course be quite nice! one reason my own primary system is a PC - all native SATA III along with other improvements.
     
  11. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #11
    The CPUs used in Mac Pro 4,1s are de-lidded. The CPUs used in Mac Pro 5,1s are the more common lidded Xeons.

    If you decided to upgrade the CPUs on a 4,1, it can be a little trickier but lidded Xeons can still be used. You just have to be careful with how much you tighten the heatsink mounting screws and/or use some sort of spacers. Another option would be to remove the lid on the Xeons.
     
  12. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    It might be wise to wait until OS X 10.11 El Capitan is officially released and some benchmarks have been run to determine which video cards would benefit Metal the most.
     

Share This Page