Will this work in my 2011 MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Irock619, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
  2. Irock619 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
  3. Aliascognito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    If you want to be 100% sure, try this website.
    http://www.crucial.com/uk/mac/index...le_uk&ef_id=up1O90wbpGEAAI23:20111228024530:s

    I have used Crucial in the past and their system scanner works perfectly. I will tell you what RAM you need.

    ----------

    Yeah, it can... But have you got the $200+ to spare?
     
  4. Irock619 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    Thanks!! I was not aware that the MBP can handle 16GB of memory, I don't think I need that much lol. I actually just noticed that if you go to "system info" on the computer and click on "memory" there is a link that takes you to apples website on how to upgrade the memory. Thanks again :)
     
  5. Aliascognito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Location:
    Ireland
  6. Irock619 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    How is it $200 when 8GB is only $45?
     
  7. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #8
    4gb sticks are cheap, 8gb aren't, simple as.
     
  8. Aliascognito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    Are you sure that is not 4GBx2 sticks?
    Screen Shot 2011-12-28 at 02.58.12.png

    EDIT: NEVER MIND... it's an Amazon Supersaver...62% saving... that's why..
    P.S That is a great deal! Take it!
     
  9. Irock619 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    Here is Amazons 16 GB kit

    Screen Shot 2011-12-27 at 9.07.44 PM.png
     
  10. Aliascognito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    That's Komputerbay... they sell their RAM cheaper and I never knew why... I always use Kingston's... Look at the price of 16GB of kingston RAM... It's going to be around $200.. That's what I was quoting earlier
     
  11. Irock619 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    Here is a Kingston 16GB kit, however this is 240 pin. I think this computer is a 204 pin :( Does the brand of memory matter? What is wrong with Komputerbay? $275 for Kingston, you were close ;)

    Screen Shot 2011-12-27 at 9.23.10 PM.png
     
  12. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #13
    Isn't that RAM too slow for a 2011 MBP? It's only 1066 MHz, the new models want 1333 RAM.

    For the record, I just recently installed this in my late 2011 MBP:
    http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Valu...1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1325045034&sr=1-1

    The price jumps around a lot, I got it for $40
     
  13. Aliascognito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Yeah, you need a 204 pin 1333MHz RAM stick for MBP 2011.
    Nothing is wrong with the various RAM manufacturers. Personally, i just prefer paying a bit more for Kingston RAM as I have yet to have a problem with them yet and they are commonly available. Just as i prefer Seagate over WD for my HDD's. It's just preference.
     
  14. Irock619 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    Thanks for the info guys !!!
     

Share This Page