Will this work?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vmachiel, May 26, 2011.

  1. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    Ok, so here is what i'm gonna do:

    1) I have a 2010 2,4GHz i5 15-inch MBP
    2) I will buy a SSD, not sure which capacity but it will be the OCZ agility 2 (http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-agi...i-2-5-ssd.html)
    3) I will clone my HDD to the new SSD with carbon copy cloner and one of these: http://dft.ba/-sa2
    4) I will swap the drives and my mac will be liked nothing changed (but a lot faster)

    Will this work, or do I have to format the SSD first before cloning it? Thank you!
     
  2. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #2
    Yes, you'll need to format the thing before CCC will recognize it as a destination.
     
  3. DustinT, May 26, 2011
    Last edited: May 26, 2011

    DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #3
    You can do it that method but I suspect you'll have some problems. Any USB enclosure will take hours to complete the job and CCC requires the computer to be up and running. That means the data will be a mix. Some will be from when you started the process and other data will be hours older. If you use the computer during that time period you'll likely have some... interesting results.

    The better method is to boot off the Snow Leopard install DVD and copy the disk image from your old drive to your new one. It will take roughly the same amount of time but you'll avoid the corruption issue.
     
  4. vmachiel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland

Share This Page