Will this work?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by elf69, Sep 28, 2016.

  1. elf69 macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #1
    I have a 2007 imac 20"

    Yes I know it is old, but it still works and does all I need so please no "throw that old junk away" type comments.

    It has wifi G extreme card.

    At work we have a few old macbooks which are broken.
    So pulled a tested good wifi card (AR5BXB72).

    Can I fit this to my imac to give it N wifi?

    Also this card has 3 antenna plugs as think it does bluetooth too.

    My mac I think (from ifixit guide) only has two.
    If it would work, which two do I connect to?

    I would like to buy a newer imac but just cannot afford it.
    So need look at upgrading mine.

    I dont use it for all that much just web browsing and itunes for my iphone really.
    My macbook is my work horse really.

    Im going to bin the 250GB HDD for a 480 SSD at same time if it is possible to swap the wifi card.
    If not then just the SSD.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Nah, don't think it'll work. However you can pick up an 802.11n card that's compatible with your iMac. If your AirPort card is 802.11g only, the 802.11n will be nearly 4 times faster, able to connect to 5GHz networks, and have an extended range/better stability.

    The BCM94321MC (compatible for your model) will set you back less than a tenner: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/APPLE-BCM...218712?hash=item2a67ddd918:g:3LoAAOSwWTRWye9N
     
  3. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    Thanks,

    Your just a fountain of knowledge bud :)
     
  4. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #4

    Wouldn't it be far easier to just move your router and connect it via Ethernet or even use the power point Ethernet plugs to get Ethernet where your iMac is?? I use a pair of these for my TV and Apple TV to get good internet connection they work well.


    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00DHB2T44
     
  5. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #5
    My mac on a surge protected extension so homeplug not work, tried them.

    Not able to relocate mac or router.

    I get signal to the mac but sometimes it slow.
    Was trying to avoid lan cable as my fiancee not like cables running all over the house.
     
  6. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #6
    Your reason those plugs won't work makes no sense, you plug one in near the router and connect by Ethernet, one in near the computer connect by Ethernet you will get far faster than wifi and you can still plug your Mac into whatever surge protector you want, you can even plug the surge protector extension into the pass through socket on the product I linked.

    This limits cables and their length to the distance from a plug socket to the router or the plug socket and the Mac.

    But hey if you want to mess around trying to replace the wifi in your Mac then go ahead, good luck.
     
  7. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #7
    I do not have pass thru units.
    I just so happened to have a set of non pass thru that my brother no longer uses.

    I work in IT and take laptops apart so an imac is not problem.
    I work for a small independent pc repair shop.

    I think I might just do the wifi card over weekend.
    Or wait til I get my SSD and do it all at same time.
     
  8. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #8
    Did a system report:

    Interfaces:
    en1:
    Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x88)
    Firmware Version: Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.131.36.16)
    MAC Address:
    Locale: ETSI
    Country Code: DE
    Supported PHY Modes: 802.11 a/b/g/n
    Supported Channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140
    Wake On Wireless: Supported
    Status: Connected

    So it is N but still little slow.
    Also should Country code not be GB?
     

Share This Page