Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kwalker5

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 16, 2008
Dont know if this has been asked before. Im very new to the macs.
Can you network a airport express to a linksys wirless gaming adapter that I have hooked up to my directv hd box?

aristobrat

macrumors G5
Oct 14, 2005
I think so.

Your network gaming adapter should work like any wireless client, so it should work with pretty much any wireless router, like the Airports...

kwalker5

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 16, 2008
As long as it can connect to a regular 802.11b/g network, it will work.

TEG

Well I had it hooked up to my old linksys router. When I bought my new iMac Sunday I bought the airport express. But Ive notice that I lost my connection to it. Also, what is the best security setting that I need to use wep128? or the others

aristobrat

macrumors G5
Oct 14, 2005
For the security, if all of your wireless devices are capable of WPA, that's more secure than any version of WEP.

Unless you set the new Airport up 100% the same as the old Linksys (same SSID, same security protcol, same keys, etc), your other devices won't be able to use the new network without some config changes being done to them.

Go thru the process of setting up that gaming adapter again and it should connect to your new Airport.

kwalker5

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 16, 2008
For the security, if all of your wireless devices are capable of WPA, that's more secure than any version of WEP.

Unless you set the new Airport up 100% the same as the old Linksys (same SSID, same security protcol, same keys, etc), your other devices won't be able to use the new network without some config changes being done to them.

Go thru the process of setting up that gaming adapter again and it should connect to your new Airport.