Will this work

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kwalker5, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. kwalker5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    Dont know if this has been asked before. Im very new to the macs.
    Can you network a airport express to a linksys wirless gaming adapter that I have hooked up to my directv hd box?
     
  2. avingochea macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Right next door to hell Yuma, Arizona
    #2
    You should be able to, I wouldn't see why not.
     
  3. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #3
    I think so.

    Your network gaming adapter should work like any wireless client, so it should work with pretty much any wireless router, like the Airports...
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    As long as it can connect to a regular 802.11b/g network, it will work.

    TEG
     
  5. kwalker5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #5
    Well I had it hooked up to my old linksys router. When I bought my new iMac Sunday I bought the airport express. But Ive notice that I lost my connection to it. Also, what is the best security setting that I need to use wep128? or the others
     
  6. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    For the security, if all of your wireless devices are capable of WPA, that's more secure than any version of WEP.

    Unless you set the new Airport up 100% the same as the old Linksys (same SSID, same security protcol, same keys, etc), your other devices won't be able to use the new network without some config changes being done to them.

    Go thru the process of setting up that gaming adapter again and it should connect to your new Airport.
     
  7. rupie94 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Location:
    Leiden
  8. kwalker5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #8
    Im reading where the linksys device is wep only. I know that Im set up WPA which is better. So the only way would be to go back to WEP on my airport, right?
     
  9. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #9
    Yup. :(

    In that case, WEP is better than nothing.

    There's a small chance Linksys may have released a firmware update for that device that supports WPA. If you get bored one night, might be worth check out.
     
  10. kwalker5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #10

    which is better wpa or wpa2
     
  11. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #11
    Both are a great improvement over WEP, but most resources indicate WPA2.

    http://www.apple.com/itpro/articles/wireless/
     

Share This Page