Will twin W3680 processors work in 2010 8 core Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by glynster, Jan 4, 2016.

  1. glynster macrumors newbie

    glynster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #1
    Hi, new to this forum. I have a 2010 Mac Pro 8 core, 2.4ghz and I am thinking of upgrading to a 12 core. I note a few people have used the w3680 processors in the 2010 machine but only when it is single core to take it from a 4 to a 6 core. Can I use the w3680 processors as a pair? cheapest I am seeing these in the EU is around £175 a piece - does that sound about right?
    Am I also right is saying that for the 2010 Mac Pro you do NOT delid the processors but simply do a straight swap (after cleaning and new thermal paste etc)?
     
  2. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #2
    You can't pair W3680. Use the X5680 instead.

    You do not delid for the 2010 Mac Pro.
     
  3. glynster thread starter macrumors newbie

    glynster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #3
    Phew, that was a close call then, thanks for the info, The X5680 only seems available 2nd hand - I'm guessing that's because they're fairly old now.
     
  4. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #4
    Used CPUs have been very solid for retrofitters. $200 on Ebay now.
     
  5. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
  6. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I have managed to fry one in 30+ years of doing this computer thing though have seen many/few others in my work on them dead on arrival to me to check out.
     
  7. glynster thread starter macrumors newbie

    glynster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #7
    Thanks to you all for the reassurance. This may sound like a stupid question but are there any other variables or choices I need to be aware of or will literally any processor labelled and sold as an "Intel Xeon X5680" work?
     
  8. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    They are pretty much the same with one exception the voltage they will run at when in the machine. When chips are manufactured they are tested in a process called binning where their voltage id is set, now the lower the VID as it is called the better as the chip will consume less power and run cooler as a result. This is to some extent not applicable in a mac as you do not get the voltage control in the BIOS you would with PC machine but I do believe a mac will run the chip at the VID it has.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    And make sure they are not ES version (engineering sample), they are usually much cheaper than the official released version.
     
  10. follow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

Share This Page