Will Window 7 64 bit work on my iMac...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MrPenguin9, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. MrPenguin9 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #1
    I just bought my iMac last october (2.8 Ghz with 4 gb of ram) and I want to try Window 7 64 bit, but will it work on my iMac?

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  2. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #2
    Yes it will. All Core 2 Duo processors are 64 bit.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    It's same thing as vista and XP, so I can't see why not. Works fine with my PC laptop. I've heard about people with Mac using W7.

    It's same hardware in Macs and PCs
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    It's worth noting that an unmodified DVD will not boot on a Mac (some conflict with EFI). Hopefully the next release will work but at the moment some tweaking is required.
     
  5. synagence macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #5
    Does the bootcamp CD include 64bit signed drivers?
     
  6. MrPenguin9 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #6
    What do you mean by "an unmodified DVD will not boot on a Mac".

    Thanks
     
  7. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #7
    It means that the 64-bit installation DVD, burned as downloaded from Microsoft will not be bootable on your iMac and thus impossible to install in Boot Camp. It works fine in VMware Fusion though, which is how I have it installed.

    There is a fix that alters the ISO to be bootable (not that the guide is specifically written for a MBP) but it never worked for me and I really wasn't ready to replace my Boot Camp Vista installation anyway so I never pursued it. YMMV.
     
  8. MrPenguin9 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #8
    Thanks for the info, but will the 32 bit Windows 7 work with out modifying it?

    Thanks
     
  9. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Yes. If Vista will, then Windows 7 will.
     
  10. josh88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    #10
    What? I have the Windows 7 64bit Beta running flawlessly on my imac 2.66ghz in bootcamp. I just downloaded the iso straight off the microsoft website and burnt it to a dvd using disk utility. No fix needed.
     
  11. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #11
    Are you sure it's not the 32 bit version? I too have the 64bit version and it doesn't install without some heavy messing around in Windows, burning it with a different program, etc, where as the 32 bit version works just fine
     
  12. manhattanmania macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #12
    i DLed the 64-bit after reading guides on simplenet, gizmodo, etc, that mentioned nothing of this problem, but it's happened to me.... it's not bootable.

    has anyone been successful in installing the 64-bit w/o modifying the iso image? does it maybe have something to do with how the iso image is being burned to dvd?
     
  13. amoda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #13
    Umm...I guess I got it easy but it worked fine with me.

    Downloaded the image from Microsoft, and burnt it on a dvd. This is Windows 7 64bit btw.

    I simply booted off the dvd and followed the instructions. I installed it over my previous Windows XP bootcamp made partition and it worked without any problems.

    Once it ran I followed these instructions to make it possible to install the drivers from the Apple DVD. Read from the 3rd paragraph.

    Internet works, sound works, trackpad works, graphic card works, etc.

    Edit:

    To clarify. Previously, a long time ago, I made a partition with Boot Camp for Windows XP. When I booted off the Windows 7 DVD and was installing it I simply told it to write over what that partition contained. It told me that it was going to make a folder called "Windows old" and put everything already in that partition in that folder. It then continued with the installation. Took a long time and several restarts but it worked.
     
  14. kanon14 macrumors regular

    kanon14

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    I installed Win7 x64 successfully without any problem. I just downloaded the ISO from Microsoft, then I burn it on a DVD using Disk Utility. I think you need to choose the right format under DU tho so that it will be a bootable dvd.
     

Share This Page