will you put a SSD in your imac ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by macchiato2009, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. macchiato2009 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #1
    hi

    is someone here planning on putting a SSD in his new imac ?

    seems thougher this time because of the heat probe, directly using a cable connected on the serial port of the stock HDD :mad:

    instead of the regular heat control thru S.M.A.R.T

    2.5" drives don't have the same pins as 3.5" drives...

    i don't see how we can plug a SSD...
     
  2. 53x12 macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
  3. farmermac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #3
    Not really interested in cracking that computer open. I would if I wasn't afraid of bricking a $1500 machine
     
  4. sharkync macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #4
    No interest for me - the stock hd is more than fast enough for what I do.
     
  5. nawoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #5
    Just wait for the ssd option to be included in the future. should be the next update. it would be stupid not to include that option

    i really want an ssd with the imacs.
     
  6. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  7. Zach Schible macrumors member

    Zach Schible

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indiana
    #7
    I plan on putting an SSD in mine when it gets here. But I will probably wait a few months to do it. Wait for the prices in SSD's to come down. My ideal set up is going to be an 80 GB SSD in place of the main drive and the replacing the CD/DVD drive with a 500 GB HD. I can't wait to do it.
     
  8. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #8
    Soon as I get an iMac the "super" drive is getting axed and an Intel SSD is going in its place.
     
  9. sentros macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Same here! Altho I'm still trying to figure out how to install SL without a dvd -drive.
     
  10. adamjohn_98 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #10
    Same here!

    I have greatly enjoyed the speed of the 80gb X25-M that I have in my laptop.
     
  11. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #11
  12. sentros macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
  13. Uncle Pinny macrumors regular

    Uncle Pinny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Whacking one in mine but most likely not for a year or so or until there is an affordable 512gb version.
     
  14. Cockroach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK

Share This Page