Win 7 64-bit unable to boot (blinking cursor)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Takuya, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. Takuya macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #1
    I feel quite embarrassed at being unable to figure this out, being a CS major and all.

    I restored my Boot Camp partition from a disk image, and I know that's always a recipe for disaster but hear me out. I would reinstall but right now I don't have my disks.

    At first, it said "no bootable device"

    I ran fdisk and diskpart to mark the partition as active via MBR and GPT.

    Then I ran bootrec /fixmbr, /fixboot, /rebuildBcd.

    I've tried deleting the bcd and letting the system rebuild it.

    I've also tried bcdboot, and bootsect /nt60 all.

    I have BCD entries, but I can't even access the safe mode options with F8.

    I dunno what to do at this point. Any suggestions?

    I also tried to synchronize the MBR with rEFIt.
     
  2. mynameismary macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    #2
    This may not do anything for you at all, but why not try to help, right?

    I restored my Windows from a clone when I swapped out my hard drive for a new (bigger!) one. I used Ghost, if that matters.
    I ran bootcamp and a new install of XP3. Rebooted. Installed Ghost then booted from the Ghost CD. Restored Win 7 from Ghost image. All is well.

    Either way, I wish you luck!
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    A few pieces of information you didn't provide that could be helpful.

    Which Mac? Which particular W7 variant? Which imaging software/approach did you use?

    Winclone actually works extremely well and is usually not a recipe for disaster so I'm surprised by your assertion that imaging is.

    B
     
  4. Takuya thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #4
    I ended up finally procuring a disc and just reinstalling.

    Imaging with diskutility is what I meant, since DU, diskutil, and their brethren don't do a bit-for-bit copy like winclone.

    All is good though.

    I am pretty sure the incompatibility was solely the bootcode and differing UUIDs.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Glad to hear it!

    Actually, depending on the mode it's used in, Winclone is just a GUI front end to diskutil or ntfsclone and doesn't have a bit copy mode. It just does a bit more accounting to put things back the way they were and make things bootable again.

    You can see exactly what it is doing in the log files.

    B
     

Share This Page