Win 7 Retail - Install over RTM via VMWare or clean install?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dkeninitz, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. dkeninitz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    #1
    I have the Win 7 RTM currently installed on my Mac Pro, on a dedicated internal hard drive. I'm running VMware 2.0. I have the retail version of Win 7 arriving today. Anyone know if I can just install through Windows, i.e., while running my existing Win 7 installation via VMware, or do I have to go through the whole clean install via Bootcamp routine?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Can't you just use the product key from your retail license in your RTM install.

    RTM is the finished product.

    You may still have to reboot to Boot Camp to activate.

    B
     
  3. dkeninitz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    #3
    I don't know. My RTM version is Ultimate; my retail version is Professional. I'm kind of unclear on when RTM is going to ask me for a new key (I assume at some point I'll get an expiration warning?).
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Ah. I don't think you have a choice, you'll have to do a clean/custom install since you are "downgrading" versions of Windows, and in Boot Camp.

    B
     
  5. dkeninitz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    #5
    Ironically, I just discovered I inadvertently ordered both the Ultimate and the Professional versions from Amazon, so I can just send the Professional version back unopened.

    But based on what I've been reading on the internet, I'm wondering if I even need the Ultimate version (i.e., the product key). I'm under the impression that my RTM version is permanently activated (it even updated itself this morning).
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    LOL. How did you obtain your RTM Ultimate? TechNet keys for instance are not supposed to be used for anything but evaluation. The only limitation on the Ultimate I got at the launch event was Not For Resale.

    Personally, I'm now wondering what to do with my Home Premium upgrade since Apple has decided not to support Boot Camp on the iMac I wanted to install it on. I think I'm going to try it first from TechNet.

    B
     
  7. dkeninitz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    #7
    Remember that RTM Lenovo OEM leak? :) I'd been using the public beta and then the RC, but since I'm not a developer I didn't have any way to update to the RTM until I read about the Lenovo leak and the key crack back in July. I wasn't averse to buying a copy; I just didn't want to wait until today. ;)
     
  8. dkeninitz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    #8
    Remember that RTM Lenovo OEM leak? :) I'd been using the public beta and then the RC, but since I'm not a developer I didn't have any way to update to the RTM until I read about the Lenovo leak and the key crack back in July. I wasn't averse to buying a copy; I just didn't want to wait until today. ;)
     

Share This Page