Winclone Error when trying to resize Bootcamp.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by emilaga151, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. emilaga151 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    So I tried following this tutorial to resize my bootcamp partition to add more space. I got to the very end where you need to do a restore, the winclone file mounts just fine but when I restore with the partition I get an error. The Log is attached.

    Thanks for the help.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Log.txt
      File size:
      54.8 KB
      Views:
      89
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Winclone isn't abandonware anymore. So, on Lion I'd recommend starting with Winclone 3.x http://twocanoes.com/winclone/ not free, but supported once again.

    Code:
    /usr/bin/hdiutil attach  -nomount "/Users/emilagarunov/Desktop/Win7.winclone/Windows.dmg"
    
    disk device is /dev/disk2
    =====restoring image from disk image=============
    
     "/Library/NTFSProgs/ntfsclone" --rescue -f -f -f -O "/dev/disk0s3"  /dev/disk2 1>&2
    ntfsclone v2.0.0 (libntfs 10:0:0)
    ERROR(16): Opening '/dev/disk2' as NTFS failed: Resource busy
    Something is grabbing /dev/disk2 (your winclone image) after it is attached. Likely suspects are backup utilities, anti-virus, etc...

    You could try running
    Code:
    /usr/bin/hdiutil attach  -nomount "/Users/emilagarunov/Desktop/Win7.winclone/Windows.dmg"
    lsof /dev/disk2
    from Terminal to see what process is grabbing it.

    B
     
  3. emilaga151 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #3
    Im actually running on 10.6, I just figured the tutorial would also apply to Snow Leopard.

    I also ran what you asked, here is the response

    emilagarunov$ /usr/bin/hdiutil attach -nomount "/Users/emilagarunov/Desktop/Win7.winclone/Windows.dmg"
    Checksumming whole disk (Windows_NTFS : 0)…
    ...............................................................................
    whole disk (Windows_NTFS : 0): verified CRC32 $7B764C37
    verified CRC32 $29774965
    /dev/disk2
    MacBook-Pro-2:~ emilagarunov$ lsof /dev/disk2
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    That didn't report /dev/disk2 as busy, so it may just be that whatever is grabbing /dev/disk2 is only doing so temporarily.

    You could try running the next step manually too. i.e. run Winclone until it dies. then:

    Code:
    /usr/bin/hdiutil attach  -nomount "/Users/emilagarunov/Desktop/Win7.winclone/Windows.dmg"
    "/Library/NTFSProgs/ntfsclone" --rescue -f -f -f -O "/dev/disk0s3"  /dev/disk2
    
    If that works all you would need to do beyond that is a few more things to make it bootable.

    B
     
  5. emilaga151 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #5
    So I ran Winclone until it gave me the usual error to check my logs. Then I went into terminal and got this response

    Code:
    /usr/bin/hdiutil attach  -nomount "/Users/emilagarunov/Desktop/Win7.winclone/Windows.dmg"
    /dev/disk2          	                               	/Volumes/Untitled 1
    MacBook-Pro-2:~ emilagarunov$ "/Library/NTFSProgs/ntfsclone" --rescue -f -f -f -O "/dev/disk0s3"  /dev/disk2
    
    
     

Share This Page