Winclone Problem on Lion

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by scientiffic, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. scientiffic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #1
    I'm attempting to restore a Winclone disk image that I created on Snow Leopard. Unfortunately, I don't have access to the original computer that I created the disk image with, so I'm not able to create another backup.

    When I try to mount the image with Winclone (V2.3), I get the error "the following disk images could not be opened." Please help!
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Winclone 2.3? As far as I know there is no such thing and Winclone 2.2 wil not run under 10.7.

    Can you post the Log File? it migth help shed some light.

    B
     
  3. scientiffic, Jul 31, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2011

    scientiffic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the response. I downloaded Winclone 2.3 from here:

    EDIT: Removed URL. See mod note below.

    Luckily, I was able to get another copy of Windows 7 and did a fresh install on my mac. When I was trying to use Winclone, though, this was the error I got:
    Code:
    Sun Jul 31 16:41:55 PDT 2011: Partition is : /dev/disk0s4
    Sun Jul 31 16:41:55 PDT 2011
    Sun Jul 31 16:41:55 PDT 2011: Restoring:
    Sun Jul 31 16:41:55 PDT 2011: '/Applications/Winclone.app/Contents/Resources/winclone.perl' -restore   -disk_device /dev/disk0 -ntfs_partition /dev/disk0s4 -v  -q -image_dir='/Users/TT/Desktop/windows_harddrive.winclone' -gptrefresh_path='/Applications/Winclone.app/Contents/Resources' -ntfstools_dir=/Library/NTFSProgs >> ~/Library/Logs/Winclone.log  2>&1 &
    restoring.....
    getting fdisk info.....
    validating partition type.....
    checking image size.....
    checking format of image..
    restoring using asr
    =====restoring image==============
    
    /usr/sbin/asr restore --noverify --puppetstrings -noprompt -erase --source "/Users/TT/Desktop/windows_harddrive.winclone/Windows.dmg" --target "/dev/disk0s4" 1>&2
    XSTA	start	239	client
    XSTA	setup
    	Validating target...done
    XSTA	metadata
    	Validating source...done
    	Repartitioning target device...
    Could not change the partition type for /dev/disk0s4 - error -5344
    XSTA	fail
    return value of /usr/sbin/asr restore --noverify --puppetstrings -noprompt -erase --source "/Users/TT/Desktop/windows_harddrive.winclone/Windows.dmg" --target "/dev/disk0s4" 1>&2 is 256
    
    /usr/sbin/asr restore --noverify --puppetstrings -noprompt -erase --source "/Users/TT/Desktop/windows_harddrive.winclone/Windows.dmg" --target "/dev/disk0s4" 1>&2 did not complete successfully
    cleaning up: Mounting Disk
    Volume BOOTCAMP on /dev/disk0s4 mounted
    Sun Jul 31 16:41:59 PDT 2011
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    2.3 appears to be a hacked version that removes the OS check. Not a good idea, IMHO.

    Twocanoes remains down and the only source for "2.3" is file sharing sites. Who knows what else is in there.

    IIRC there is a checkbox to use asr or not in 2.2. Try asking it not to use asr.

    B
     
  5. bubba*nix, Aug 23, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2011

    bubba*nix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #5
    I've updated the 2.3 version posted and called it 2.3.1. I fixed a few of the commands called in winclone.perl since their output has changed with Lion, so they should now work when called.

    Not sure who released the "hacked" 2.3 version, but the AppleScripts just call a backend Perl script and the underlying script was not modified, so I don't think you have to worry about running this version.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    MOD NOTE: Winclone may be abandonware, but is still under copyright by the original author. Distributing a modified derivative work is, unfortunately, a violation of the author's copyright.

    I removed both links to these unofficial versions, per the forum rules, please don't tell folks where to find them.

    B
     
  7. abusbey3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #7
    Problems using Winclone 2.3.2

    I have tried a number of times using Winclone 2.3.2 to clone a Win7 partition in Snow Leopard. Making the initial copy goes fine. Every time I try to clone the image I get this:

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    Unmounting /dev/disk0s3
    Use of uninitialized value $command in concatenation (.) or string at /Applications/Winclone.app/Contents/Resources/winclone.perl line 548.
    /usr/sbin/diskutil unmount "/dev/disk0s3"return value of unmount is 256

    output is disk0s3 was already not mounted

    did not complete successfully
    cleaning up: Mounting Disk

    It looks like everything goes fine until the very end and then there is a problem in the backend script. Anyone have any ideas??
    Thanks
     
  8. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #8
    Try uncheck all options in Preferences except User mountable Disk Image format (dmg).
     

Share This Page