Window has gone off the screen - can't move or resize it!

RedSunshine

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 17, 2011
12
0
I just installed Photoshop Elements 12. Somehow I managed to drag the window off to the left side of my desktop view and now, I can't drag it back to access the red/yellow/green buttons to close/minimize/restore. I can close via the menu but upon relaunching, the window goes right back where it was.

I found you can resize a window using the shift key + your mouse, so i tried that and now I can't see any of the top of the window either.

There is no double arrow in the right hand corner either.

So far, I'm really HATING this product. I can't get my iphoto library to import either.

any ideas?

I'm on OSx 9 Mavericks and Elements 12.
 

r0k

macrumors 68040
Mar 3, 2008
3,610
73
Detroit
I just installed Photoshop Elements 12. Somehow I managed to drag the window off to the left side of my desktop view and now, I can't drag it back to access the red/yellow/green buttons to close/minimize/restore. I can close via the menu but upon relaunching, the window goes right back where it was.

I found you can resize a window using the shift key + your mouse, so i tried that and now I can't see any of the top of the window either.

There is no double arrow in the right hand corner either.

So far, I'm really HATING this product. I can't get my iphoto library to import either.

any ideas?

I'm on OSx 9 Mavericks and Elements 12.
I've had this happen and I always quit the affect application and restart it. To answer your question, I decided to google this and found that some users had success in moving the dock to get windows to behave. Others found that momentarily going to the login screen and coming back solves the issue. If you have multiple user accounts on your Mac, go to the screen you would use to log in as another user (without logging off), but then rather than log in, just cancel and see if all returns to normal. In my case, since I have fast user switching enabled, I would click my name on the menubar, pick some other user, then cancel and not bother logging in as them.

BTW, I don't have any Adobe software. I think it was either Chrome or perhaps LibreOffice that gave me this problem. I do have multiple monitors so perhaps that's part of the issue.
 

snorkelman

macrumors 6502a
Oct 25, 2010
607
42
On a retina macbook you could try going up a screen resolution from the one currently set (not sure if you can go up a resolution on conventional mac books, on the retina the best for retina is usually a couple of options down from max res). That might show a bit of the off screen window as the desktop space increases.

Alternately could try opening apple script editor (its in Utilities folder) and copying and pasting the script below into it

if you then run it from the run button on apple script editors toolbar, it'll gather all windows onto the main desktop

Note - chances are first time you run it you'll get told that applescript editor doesnt have permission in security and privacy to access Accessibility features and be prompted to update the security and privacy prefs, after doing so it'll run on the second attempt.

not my script, so credit where its due
http://snipplr.com/view/8645/gather-windows/

Code:
repeat with win in windows
				-- get window dimensions (w = width; h = height)
				set {w, h} to size of win
				
				-- get window postion (l = left of window; t = top of window)
				set {l, t} to position of win
				
				-- nh = new window height; nw = new window width
				set {nh, nw} to {h, w}
				
				-- window width is bigger than desktop size,
				-- so set new window width to match the desktop
				if (w > dw) then ¬
					set nw to dw
				
				-- window height is bigger than the desktop size (minus menu bar),
				-- so set new window height to be desktop height - 22 pixels
				if (h > dh - 22) then ¬
					set nh to dh - 22
				
				-- r = right coordinate of window; b = bottom coordinate of window
				set {r, b} to {l + nw, t + nh}
				
				-- nl = new left coordinate; nt = new top coordinate
				set {nl, nt} to {l, t}
				
				-- left coordinate is off screen, so set new left coordinate
				-- to be 0 (at the left edge of the desktop)
				if (l < 0) then ¬
					set nl to 0
				
				-- top coordinate is above bottom of menu bar (22 pixels tall),
				-- so set new top coordinate to be 22
				if (t < 22) then ¬
					set nt to 22
				
				-- right coordinate extends beyond desktop width,
				-- so set new left coordinate to be desktop width - window width
				if (r > dw) then ¬
					set nl to dw - nw
				
				-- bottom coordinate extends beyond desktop height,
				-- so set new top coordinate to be desktop height - window height
				if (b > dh) then ¬
					set nt to dh - nh
				
				-- if we have calculated a new top or left coordinate, reposition window
				if (l ≠ nl or t ≠ nt) then ¬
					set position of win to {nl, nt}
				
				-- if we have calculated a new height or width, resize window
				if (h ≠ nh or w ≠ nw) then ¬
					set size of win to {nw, nh}
			end repeat
 

mike0000

macrumors newbie
Aug 17, 2011
19
2
Zoom

Click anywhere on the errant window to make it the active window.

In the Menu Bar that runs across the top of the screen select
"Window" then in the drop down menu select "Zoom"

This should bring the errant window back to the center of the screen.
 

esthrogen

macrumors newbie
Jun 27, 2014
1
0
On a retina macbook you could try going up a screen resolution from the one currently set (not sure if you can go up a resolution on conventional mac books, on the retina the best for retina is usually a couple of options down from max res). That might show a bit of the off screen window as the desktop space increases.
snorkelman - You just saved my hide. Thanks! :D
 
Last edited by a moderator:

t1n0m3n

macrumors newbie
Aug 6, 2014
4
1
I have found that you can move the app window if you position the mouse over the edge to get the horizontal or vertical resize arrows. The trick is to move the mouse horizontally if you have the vertical resize arrows or vertically if you have the horizontal resize arrows. It is a bit tricky, but it works on Mavericks 10.9.x This trick does not work with the diagonal resize arrows. The trick works better if you get the resize arrows the furthest away from the window without turning back into a normal pointer. You can practice this trick on any window, off screen or not.

Also, if you hold down the option button when resizing, the window resizes on both sides. This *does* work with diagonal resizing. Again, this works on all windows, off screen or not. You can try it out now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CreatorCode

ckeck

macrumors 6502a
Jul 29, 2005
712
63
Texas
Also, if you hold down the option button when resizing, the window resizes on both sides. This *does* work with diagonal resizing. Again, this works on all windows, off screen or not. You can try it out now.
Never knew this...just got me out of a pinch. Thanks! :cool:
 

JaxDroidGuy

macrumors newbie
Mar 12, 2013
4
0
Have you guys seen where the Save As dialog in Chrome goes off the screen? I can't see the top or bottom since updating to Yosemite and none of the resize tricks seem to work. :(
 

uvawahoowa

macrumors newbie
Oct 24, 2014
1
0
I went to my display settings and changed it to more space, and then resized my save/cancel window from Chrome to a smaller size so I could see the bottom, then resized it back to Retina and now in Yosemite I can see the bottom of my save as field.
 

jimward

macrumors newbie
Oct 27, 2014
1
0
I went to my display settings and changed it to more space, and then resized my save/cancel window from Chrome to a smaller size so I could see the bottom, then resized it back to Retina and now in Yosemite I can see the bottom of my save as field.

Thanks this worked! Was driving me crazy.
 

JaxDroidGuy

macrumors newbie
Mar 12, 2013
4
0
Man oh man. I was already at max resolution so I bought QuickRes which let me go higher. I was finally able to resize the window!

Now I have another question. The title bar is still missing. I can't grab it to move the save dialog around. Is that something new?

ETA: (*^()%%&*%)^)))(*^%%^*& I brought the dialog up again and it's f'd up again. This is un-f'n-believable.
 

grantgeorge

macrumors newbie
Nov 16, 2014
1
0
I have found that you can move the app window if you position the mouse over the edge to get the horizontal or vertical resize arrows. The trick is to move the mouse horizontally if you have the vertical resize arrows or vertically if you have the horizontal resize arrows. It is a bit tricky, but it works on Mavericks 10.9.x This trick does not work with the diagonal resize arrows. The trick works better if you get the resize arrows the furthest away from the window without turning back into a normal pointer. You can practice this trick on any window, off screen or not.

Also, if you hold down the option button when resizing, the window resizes on both sides. This *does* work with diagonal resizing. Again, this works on all windows, off screen or not. You can try it out now.
Just registered so I can say thank you. This fixed my problem and saved a lot of hassle. Thanks :)
 

eamonniknafs

macrumors newbie
Mar 25, 2015
2
1
Apple Script that works with 10.9+

This Applescript worked way better than the one posted above. I found it on GitHub here.

Here's the script:
Code:
-- A little script to gather any application windows that are partially
-- offscreen in some way and shift them back to the desktop. This is
-- particularly useful if you use a MacBook with an external display.
-- Origin: https://github.com/bradchoate/gather-windows
-- This file is encoded in UTF-8.

tell application "Finder"
	-- get desktop dimensions (dw = desktop width; dh = desktop height)
	set db to bounds of window of desktop
	set {dw, dh} to {item 3 of db, item 4 of db}
end tell

tell application "System Events"
	repeat with proc in application processes
		tell proc
			-- A little script to gather any application windows that are partially
			-- offscreen in some way and shift them back to the desktop. This is
			-- particularly useful if you use a MacBook with an external display.
			-- Origin: https://github.com/bradchoate/gather-windows
			-- This file is encoded in UTF-8.
			
			tell application "Finder"
				-- get desktop dimensions (dw = desktop width; dh = desktop height)
				set db to bounds of window of desktop
				set {dw, dh} to {item 3 of db, item 4 of db}
			end tell
			
			tell application "System Events"
				repeat with proc in application processes
					tell proc
						repeat with win in windows
							-- get window dimensions (w = width; h = height)
							set {w, h} to size of win
							
							-- get window postion (l = left of window; t = top of window)
							set {l, t} to position of win
							
							-- nh = new window height; nw = new window width
							set {nh, nw} to {h, w}
							
							-- window width is bigger than desktop size,
							-- so set new window width to match the desktop
							if (w > dw) then ¬
								set nw to dw
							
							-- window height is bigger than the desktop size (minus menu bar),
							-- so set new window height to be desktop height - 22 pixels
							if (h > dh - 22) then ¬
								set nh to dh - 22
							
							-- r = right coordinate of window; b = bottom coordinate of window
							set {r, b} to {l + nw, t + nh}
							
							-- nl = new left coordinate; nt = new top coordinate
							set {nl, nt} to {l, t}
							
							-- left coordinate is off screen, so set new left coordinate
							-- to be 0 (at the left edge of the desktop)
							if (l < 0) then ¬
								set nl to 0
							
							-- top coordinate is above bottom of menu bar (22 pixels tall),
							-- so set new top coordinate to be 22
							if (t < 22) then ¬
								set nt to 22
							
							-- right coordinate extends beyond desktop width,
							-- so set new left coordinate to be desktop width - window width
							if (r > dw) then ¬
								set nl to dw - nw
							
							-- bottom coordinate extends beyond desktop height,
							-- so set new top coordinate to be desktop height - window height
							if (b > dh) then ¬
								set nt to dh - nh
							
							-- if we have calculated a new top or left coordinate, reposition window
							if (l ≠ nl or t ≠ nt) then ¬
								set position of win to {nl, nt}
							
							-- if we have calculated a new height or width, resize window
							if (h ≠ nh or w ≠ nw) then ¬
								set size of win to {nw, nh}
						end repeat
					end tell
				end repeat
			end tell
		end tell
	end repeat
end tell
 

gra-macrumors

macrumors newbie
Sep 4, 2002
2
1
Second monitor solution.
I had a sub window within LabVIEW stuck partially off when screen using on my laptop running OS-X.9.5. There is no zoom option and the earlier apple script didn't work on my machine and I solved my problem before I saw the udated apple script. (I have not had a stuck window to try the new script yet)

To solve with a second monitor arrange the second monitor's desktop to be where the stuck window will be. So if the stuck window is off the top then place the second monitor's desktop above your working screen using the "Arrangement " tab of "Displays" in the "System Preferences" from the apple menu. Now back in the stuck application desktop drag a window from the application with the stuck window to the upper screen and the stuck window should reattach to the top window revealing the the three window control buttons. I don't promise it will work for every situation but it worked for me.
 
Last edited:

Ganesha

macrumors regular
Aug 4, 2009
111
1
Change the resolution of your monitor to the smallest then back to the default. Sometimes this causes and offscreen window to clean up.
 

Mikeproc

macrumors newbie
Jun 15, 2015
2
0
Second monitor solution.
I had a sub window within LabVIEW stuck partially off when screen using on my laptop running OS-X.9.5. There is no zoom option and the earlier apple script didn't work on my machine and I solved my problem before I saw the udated apple script. (I have not had a stuck window to try the new script yet)

To solve with a second monitor arrange the second monitor's desktop to be where the stuck window will be. So if the stuck window is off the top then place the second monitor's desktop above your working screen using the "Arrangement " tab of "Displays" in the "System Preferences" from the apple menu. Now back in the stuck application desktop drag a window from the application with the stuck window to the upper screen and the stuck window should reattach to the top window revealing the the three window control buttons. I don't promise it will work for every situation but it worked for me.
 

HiggyBaby

macrumors newbie
Jan 21, 2016
1
0
Zoom

Click anywhere on the errant window to make it the active window.

In the Menu Bar that runs across the top of the screen select
"Window" then in the drop down menu select "Zoom"

This should bring the errant window back to the center of the screen.
Thanks mike0000, this is the perfect answer. Worked brilliantly! :eek:)
 

NeophyteKKG

macrumors newbie
Oct 31, 2014
2
0
I just installed Photoshop Elements 12. Somehow I managed to drag the window off to the left side of my desktop view and now, I can't drag it back to access the red/yellow/green buttons to close/minimize/restore. I can close via the menu but upon relaunching, the window goes right back where it was.

I found you can resize a window using the shift key + your mouse, so i tried that and now I can't see any of the top of the window either.

There is no double arrow in the right hand corner either.

So far, I'm really HATING this product. I can't get my iphoto library to import either.

any ideas?

I'm on OSx 9 Mavericks and Elements 12.
Easiest solution I've found: Select the app from the dock so that it has the ribbon of commands at the top of your screen. Select "Window" from the ribbon, and choose "Zoom". This will place the open window full screen, where you can then resize it to a position within your screen view. :) (I have lots of answers since I make lots of mistakes...)
 

brooks99

macrumors newbie
Jun 13, 2016
1
0
I couldn't get the above to work. I'm using multiple monitors on iMac El Capitan and I found that settings > display > arragement > mirror displays helped me.
 

estherau

macrumors newbie
May 4, 2005
27
0
australia
I couldn't get the above to work. I'm using multiple monitors on iMac El Capitan and I found that settings > display > arragement > mirror displays helped me.
t1n0m3n solution worked for me. Just go to an edge at the bottom and when you get resizing arrows, just hold down the option key and drag. everything is fixed - easily!!
 

Cara51

macrumors newbie
Mar 8, 2016
6
1
Brighton
I just installed Photoshop Elements 12. Somehow I managed to drag the window off to the left side of my desktop view and now, I can't drag it back to access the red/yellow/green buttons to close/minimize/restore. I can close via the menu but upon relaunching, the window goes right back where it was.

I found you can resize a window using the shift key + your mouse, so i tried that and now I can't see any of the top of the window either.

There is no double arrow in the right hand corner either.

So far, I'm really HATING this product. I can't get my iphoto library to import either.

any ideas?

I'm on OSx 9 Mavericks and Elements 12.
[doublepost=1479754461][/doublepost]Yes I often do this and I don't know how -- but the solution is simple. Push your cursor to the top of the left hand side of the screen until "Safari" appears and click on "View". Then scroll down to the bottom and click "Exit Full Screen".
 

2Much Mark

macrumors newbie
Apr 19, 2016
2
1
On a retina macbook you could try going up a screen resolution from the one currently set (not sure if you can go up a resolution on conventional mac books, on the retina the best for retina is usually a couple of options down from max res). That might show a bit of the off screen window as the desktop space increases.
Thanks Snorkelam this worked for me.
 
  • Like
Reactions: snorkelman

Cara51

macrumors newbie
Mar 8, 2016
6
1
Brighton
I've had this happen and I always quit the affect application and restart it. To answer your question, I decided to google this and found that some users had success in moving the dock to get windows to behave. Others found that momentarily going to the login screen and coming back solves the issue. If you have multiple user accounts on your Mac, go to the screen you would use to log in as another user (without logging off), but then rather than log in, just cancel and see if all returns to normal. In my case, since I have fast user switching enabled, I would click my name on the menubar, pick some other user, then cancel and not bother logging in as them.

BTW, I don't have any Adobe software. I think it was either Chrome or perhaps LibreOffice that gave me this problem. I do have multiple monitors so perhaps that's part of the issue.
[doublepost=1493573170][/doublepost]Easy to fix! This problem happens when you accidentally click the Green button on new versions of OSX. It goes to the "Full Screen" mode.
Hover at top left corner of screen until the green-amber-red buttons show and click on the Green.
 
  • Like
Reactions: r0k
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.