Windows 10 in Virtualbox: screen resolution issues

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Mais78, Mar 31, 2015.

  1. Mais78 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #1
    I cannot get the native resolution on the MBP, anyone knows how to fix this?
     
  2. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #2
    Use latest version of VBox and install guest additions in Windows. Works fine.
     
  3. Mais78 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #3
    That's what I did....Did you try it? Max res is 1600x...
     
  4. doynton, Apr 1, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2015

    doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #4
    I misread your question. I get only 1280 x 800 (13" rMBP effective not native resolution).

    I tried using vboxmanage setextradata "Windows10" "CustomVideoMode1" "2560x1600x32" to set native resolution as mentioned in the last link in your(?) post here but it didn't work for me either. It updated the XML fine as I'd ended VBox so it looks to me that it just doesn't work - we are stuck with effective resolution at the moment.

    BTW, I run Windows 10 in bootcamp 90% of the time and this is at (obviously) my native 2650x1600 resolution - it looks excellent. Far better than when running it via virtualbox. I even prefer the native display of Windows 10 to Yosemite in fact - it seems crisper and is certainly less laggy.
     
  5. zone23 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #5
    Windows 10 is a mess you find windows update yet?
     
  6. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #6
    I've no idea what you mean. I installed Windows 10 in October on both my MBPs and have updated through every subsequent build. Both are currently on build 10049.

    If your question really is "how did you find Windows update" the answer is easy. Press on the windows key (the cmd key on OSX keyboard) and then type "Windows Update".

    Pressing the cmd key in windows is like pressing cmd+space in OSX - it brings up the search and you can then type in what you are looking for.
     
  7. zone23 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #7
    Thanks for the lesson on how to search. Now if you could tell me how to manually run windows update that would be great. Thanks.
     
  8. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #8
    It is nothing to do with screen resolution in virtualbox so you may have more luck opening a new thread if you can't find anything on google....
     
  9. KdParker macrumors 601

    KdParker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #9
    go to settings and click on windows update. fi you are set to fast update you will see the latest update available.
     

Share This Page