Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!
  • Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

TECK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2011
679
191
I have Catalina running on a true cMP 5,1, with OpenCore. Catalina is installed on a NVMe attached to a SYBA PCIe card. I want to add a second NVMe into SYBA and install Windows 10 on it. Can you please provide a link to an up to date procedure?
 

dvbcheck

macrumors member
Aug 16, 2014
35
15
Germany
 
  • Like
Reactions: TECK and Dayo
Comment

TECK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2011
679
191
@dvbcheck I installed Windows 10 tonight, all went great. Network and Wireless are functional out of the box, I have no unrecognized hardware into Device Manager, system updated the RX580 video drivers also, so I get 4K resolution. Everything is functional, except Bluetooth, I cannot use my Apple Magic Mouse 2 and Keyboard.

Any idea how to fix this? I'm typing this from Windows, with an Apple wired keyboard and mouse.
 
Last edited:
Comment

dvbcheck

macrumors member
Aug 16, 2014
35
15
Germany

Great success.
To install bluetooth follow the link above (from Point 8)f.e..
But I use an upgraded Bluetooth 4.0 device which needs newer drivers form iMacPro 1.1
 
Comment

TECK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2011
679
191
@dvbcheck same here, I upgraded my Mac with a Broadcom BCM943602CDPAX 4.2 Bluetooth card. Microsoft see it into Device Manager, I don't have any yellow triangles. Does this mean I only need to install Brigadier? It does not makes sense, I should have Bluetooth without it.

I'm still trying to figure how to hide the Windows external disk icon showing into macOS desktop. I did the Windows install with NTFS format, I did not wanted to use exFAT. Because the NTFS disk is read-only, I cannot use chflags to hide the icon, so until someone smart proposes a better fix, I set a nobrowse into /etc/fstab:
Code:
$ diskutil info /Volumes/Windows | grep 'Volume UUID'
   Volume UUID:              <VOLUME_UUID>
$ sudo vi /etc/fstab
UUID=<VOLUME_UUID> none ntfs ro,auto,nobrowse

Screen Shot 2020-05-05 at 3.31.31 AM.png


If there is a better way, please let me know. I would prefer maybe to do a proper unmount of the Windows disk. I'm wondering if I can do this with new features in OpenCode 0.5.8 @cdf?
 
Last edited:
Comment

startergo

macrumors 68040
Sep 20, 2018
3,395
1,459
@dvbcheck same here, I upgraded my Mac with a Broadcom BCM943602CDPAX 4.2 Bluetooth card. Microsoft see it into Device Manager, I don't have any yellow triangles. Does this mean I only need to install Brigadier? It does not makes sense, I should have Bluetooth without it.

I'm still trying to figure how to hide the Windows external disk icon showing into macOS desktop. I did the Windows install with NTFS format, I did not wanted to use exFAT. Because the NTFS disk is read-only, I cannot use chflags to hide the icon, so until someone smart proposes a better fix, I set a nobrowse into /etc/fstab:
Code:
$ diskutil info /Volumes/Windows | grep 'Volume UUID'
   Volume UUID:              <VOLUME_UUID>
$ sudo vi /etc/fstab
UUID=<VOLUME_UUID> none ntfs ro,auto,nobrowse

View attachment 912251

If there is a better way, please let me know. I would prefer maybe to do a proper unmount of the Windows disk. I'm wondering if I can do this with new features in OpenCode 0.5.8 @cdf?
You can use Innie.kext to show external drives as internal. In OC itself there are some quirks which are clearly labeled so you can't miss them, but without Innie all NVME drives will show external. There is a device rename method where you can set a pcie device in add device properties and find "external" and replace with "internal. There is a kext patch method for NVME working on the same principle: look where is your NVME attached in IOJones or IOexplorer and patch that kext replacing "external" with "internal". All in HEX or base64 depending on the editor.
 
  • Like
Reactions: zoltm and TECK
Comment

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
15,191
7,509
Hong Kong
@dvbcheck same here, I upgraded my Mac with a Broadcom BCM943602CDPAX 4.2 Bluetooth card. Microsoft see it into Device Manager, I don't have any yellow triangles. Does this mean I only need to install Brigadier? It does not makes sense, I should have Bluetooth without it.

I'm still trying to figure how to hide the Windows external disk icon showing into macOS desktop. I did the Windows install with NTFS format, I did not wanted to use exFAT. Because the NTFS disk is read-only, I cannot use chflags to hide the icon, so until someone smart proposes a better fix, I set a nobrowse into /etc/fstab:
Code:
$ diskutil info /Volumes/Windows | grep 'Volume UUID'
   Volume UUID:              <VOLUME_UUID>
$ sudo vi /etc/fstab
UUID=<VOLUME_UUID> none ntfs ro,auto,nobrowse

View attachment 912251

If there is a better way, please let me know. I would prefer maybe to do a proper unmount of the Windows disk. I'm wondering if I can do this with new features in OpenCode 0.5.8 @cdf?
Brigadier is just for helping to download the iMac Pro driver package, and the required wifi / bt driver is in that package.

There is no wifi ac / BT 4.2 for cMP form Apple, the 5,1 Bootcamp driver package does not contain the driver for your own upgraded hardware.
 
  • Like
Reactions: zoltm and TECK
Comment

TECK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2011
679
191
You can use Innie.kext to show external drives as internal. In OC itself there are some quirks which are clearly labeled so you can't miss them, but without Innie all NVME drives will show external. There is a device rename method where you can set a pcie device in add device properties and find "external" and replace with "internal. There is a kext patch method for NVME working on the same principle: look where is your NVME attached in IOJones or IOexplorer and patch that kext replacing "external" with "internal". All in HEX or base64 depending on the editor.
I was trying to keep OC light without Lilu and INNIE. This is what I did to hide the NVMe disks, thanks @cdf for the DeviceProperties example. I'm wondering is there is an easier way to find the disks path?

To get the disk path, I listed everything:
Code:
$ ioreg -b
and noticed the Samsung disks were listed as pci144d,a808, see example for one disk:
Code:
    | |   +-o IOU1@7  <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x1000001c7, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (390 ms), retain 12>
    | |   | +-o IOPP  <class IOPCI2PCIBridge, id 0x100000214, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (388 ms), retain 8>
    | |   |   +-o PXS2@0  <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x1000001c8, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (388 ms), retain 14>
    | |   |     +-o IOPP  <class IOPCI2PCIBridge, id 0x10000022a, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (387 ms), retain 10>
    | |   |       +-o pci-bridge@0  <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x1000001f9, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (303 ms), retain 12>
    | |   |       | +-o IOPP  <class IOPCI2PCIBridge, id 0x10000023f, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (302 ms), retain 8>
    | |   |       |   +-o pci144d,a808@0  <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x1000001fb, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (302 ms), retain 13>
    | |   |       |     +-o IONVMeController  <class IONVMeController, id 0x100000272, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (288 ms), retain 10>
    | |   |       |       +-o IONVMeBlockStorageDevice@1  <class IONVMeBlockStorageDevice, id 0x10000028e, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (288 ms), retain 13>
    | |   |       |         +-o IOBlockStorageDriver  <class IOBlockStorageDriver, id 0x100000296, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (283 ms), retain 8>
    | |   |       |           +-o Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 500GB Media  <class IOMedia, id 0x10000029b, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (283 ms), retain 12>

Then, I used the pci144d,a808 IODeviceTree name to get the path of my 2 Samsung Evo Plus disks:
Code:
$ gfxutil -f pci144d,a808
08:00.0 144d:a808 /PCI0@0/IOU1@7/PXS2@0/pci-bridge@0/pci144d,a808@0 = PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x7,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)
09:00.0 144d:a808 /PCI0@0/IOU1@7/PXS2@0/pci-bridge@8/pci144d,a808@0 = PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x7,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x8,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)

Next, I changed the config.plist to:
Code:
    <key>DeviceProperties</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Add</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x7,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>built-in</key>
                <data>AA==</data>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x7,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x8,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>built-in</key>
                <data>AA==</data>
            </dict>
        </dict>
        <key>Block</key>
        <dict/>
    </dict>

Samsung 970 EVO Plus:

Screen Shot 2020-05-05 at 10.02.56 PM.png


USB drive:

Screen Shot 2020-05-05 at 10.03.08 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Comment

TECK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2011
679
191
Bluetooth started to work, after installing the optional Windows Update. Magic Keyboard and Mouse 2 are now automatically detected. The mouse gestures are not working, but right and left click is functional. That unrecognized device is the Sonnet Allegro USB3C-2PM-E card.

device-manager.png
 
Last edited:
Comment

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
15,191
7,509
Hong Kong
Bluetooth started to work, after installing the optional Windows Update. Magic Keyboard and Mouse 2 are now automatically detected. The mouse gestures are not working, but right and left click is functional. As you can see the Bluetooth drivers are missing?

View attachment 912506
It seems you installed the cMP wifi / BT driver, not the iMac Pro wifi / BT driver. That's why there is still a unrecognised BT controller under "Other devices".

With the iMac Pro wifi / BT driver, the scrolling of the Magic Mouse should work.
 
Comment

TECK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2011
679
191
@h9826790 my bad, that unrecognized device is the Sonnet Allegro USB3C-2PM-E card. I tried installing the Windows drivers but they are not working.

I did not installed any driver related to Wifi and Bluetooth, I simply completed all Windows updates (including the optional ones) and everything started to work.
 
Comment

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
15,191
7,509
Hong Kong
@h9826790 my bad, that unrecognized device is the Sonnet Allegro USB3C-2PM-E card. I tried installing the Windows drivers but they are not working.

I did not installed any driver related to Wifi and Bluetooth, I simply completed all Windows updates (including the optional ones) and everything started to work.
That's why the scrolling not working yet. There should be no need to install anything for the Sonnet card. Windows 10 will handle it automatically. And the Sonnet card won't ident itself as the Bluetooth USB Host Controller.

Without installing the proper driver. The BT will still work, but only partially, and that's why you don't have scrolling, and there is still a "Bluetooth USB Host Controller" standing by for you to fix.
 
  • Like
Reactions: zoltm and TECK
Comment

TECK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2011
679
191
Thanks for the explanation @h9826790, I thought it is the Sonnet card because during the drivers installation the window was called USB Host Controller Driver Install. If I attach a external drive on the Sonnet whole in Windows, it does not shows so I figured I can install their drivers. Related to Bluetooth, I tried several Win10 drivers, BCM943602 and BCM943602CD, none were compatible. Broadcom will say all new drivers are part of Windows now.
 
Last edited:
Comment

nemomec

macrumors newbie
May 6, 2020
4
6
Hello,

i have now installed Open Core on my Mac Pro 5.1 with Catalina 10.15.4 on a NVME, works very well and fast with my new AMD RX5700XT. In the past i was using Mojave + Windows 10 in Dual Boot Mode under Bootcamp with a Vega 56 without any problems.

Now i will start my "old" Windows 10 Installation on my second SSD but the boot menu of Open Core shows only under 1. Catalina. Is there a way to configure my Windows 10 Installation for use with Open Core?

Thanks!
 
Comment

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
15,191
7,509
Hong Kong
The BT is connected via USB inside the cMP.

If you re-read that Sonnet support page. It clearly says that "The driver is automatically installed in computers Windows 8.1 and 10."

You do NOT install driver for BCM943602 or BCM943602CD from Broadcom, but the driver package for iMac Pro from Apple, or at least the AppleBluetoothBroadcom64 inside that package (then you may need to manually select this drive in device property). Broadcom cannot provide you the driver that works for Magic Mouse.
[automerge]1588756889[/automerge]
Hello,

i have now installed Open Core on my Mac Pro 5.1 with Catalina 10.15.4 on a NVME, works very well and fast with my new AMD RX5700XT. In the past i was using Mojave + Windows 10 in Dual Boot Mode under Bootcamp with a Vega 56 without any problems.

Now i will start my "old" Windows 10 Installation on my second SSD but the boot menu of Open Core shows only under 1. Catalina. Is there a way to configure my Windows 10 Installation for use with Open Core?

Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: zoltm
Comment

nemomec

macrumors newbie
May 6, 2020
4
6
Convert it to UEFI from Legacy and hold your fingers crossed.

Works perfect! Now i have at boot the choice between Catalina and Windows 10. :)

The Windows 10 performance is with the RX5700XT incredible and nearly the same like my Gaming AMD PC from 2020!

Thanks to all that make the "old" Mac Pro´s alive!
 
Comment

TECK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2011
679
191
You do NOT install driver for BCM943602 or BCM943602CD from Broadcom, but the driver package for iMac Pro from Apple, or at least the AppleBluetoothBroadcom64
Ya, that’s what I did first. I searched Google for the card model and downloaded many Apple drivers and tried them one by one. None worked.

Edit: I was looking at the problem the wrong way. I fixed the mouse issue by downloading the latest iMacPro1,1 drivers (BootCamp-061-97204) with Brigadier:
Code:
> brigadier -m iMacPro1,1

Once I pointed the problem device to AppleBluetoothBroadcom directory, it installed the drivers.

To fix the scrolling, all I had to do is go into BootCamp-061-97204\$WinPEDriver$\AppleWirelessMouse directory, right-click on AppleWirelessMouse.inf and select Install.

bluetooth.png
 
Last edited:
Comment

gianttg

macrumors newbie
Oct 19, 2019
7
3
Hi
I would like to ask how to install win10 to macpro 5,1
I already install opencore 0.5.8 everything go smooth
but after I convert my win10 drive to uefi ( use mbr2gpt.exe )
win10 got error code inaccessible boot device and re roop.
So I find the way to setup fresh win10 again.
Please let me know how to prepare usb win10 bootable or else I have to do

Thank you very much
 
Comment

Enricote

macrumors member
Oct 7, 2018
68
39
Madrid, Spain
Hi
I would like to ask how to install win10 to macpro 5,1
I already install opencore 0.5.8 everything go smooth
but after I convert my win10 drive to uefi ( use mbr2gpt.exe )
win10 got error code inaccessible boot device and re roop.
So I find the way to setup fresh win10 again.
Please let me know how to prepare usb win10 bootable or else I have to do

Thank you very much
I had exactly the same problem weeks ago.
My solution was to install a fresh copy of Windows 10 in EFI mode using a ISO copy of windows 10
This was my procedure (very easy IMO):

 
Last edited:
Comment

gianttg

macrumors newbie
Oct 19, 2019
7
3
I have been trying in last few days several options to install Windows 10 in my cMP 5,1 after installing Catalina via Opencore using the excellent wiki here. I tried and failed using VirtualBox VM or Bootcamp adaptations.

This is useful if you have no Mac EFI Boot because you use a generic compatible GPU and you don't want to spend an extra money to buy an original Mac GPU or to flash one.

I finally succeded installing windows 10 using RUFUS (very simple app for free - https://rufus.ie -) in a computer running windows. I used a USB caddy ( actually an external USB SATA Hard Drive I opened to use ). Very fast, simple and comprehensible for normal users like me.

I followed indications from “quiet-cacophony” in point #4 of this threat (thank you so much!):

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/solved-mac-pro-5-1-windows-10-install-help.2234722/



So, in order to clarify even more if possible, the procedure is:


1.- Formatting your SATA drive in your cMP using Disk Utility in ExFAT format

2.- Remove it from your cMP and use your USB caddy to mount it in your PC windows computer

3.- Load Windows 10 ISO in your PC. Download it from Microsoft website in your Mac.

4.- Open Rufus and check these options (image attached):

a.- Select the windows 10 ISO​
b.- “List USB Hard Drives” and select your USB SATA drive​
c.- “WINDOWS TO GO” image option​
d.- “GPT” Partition scheme​
e.- “UEFI (non CSM)” Target system​

5.- Start the proccess. It lasts a few minutes

6.- Unplug your USB caddy, remove the SATA drive and install it again in you cMP

7.- Start your cMP in Opencore. You should see your Windows in the OpenCore BootPicker. So you can choose it and start a straight and fast windows installation in that HD. Use Windows BootPicker option everytime installation needs to reboot

8.- With Windows 10 installed you will need to activate it for installing Apple Drivers. Boot Camp 5 and 6 for Windows are not compatible. I used this not difficult procedure (“Brigadier”):

https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...en.2114788/page-9?post=26689280#post-26689280

I used also this video:




I really hope it can be useful for someone.
I had exactly the same problem weeks ago.
My solution was to install a fresh copy of Windows 10 in EFI mode using a ISO copy of windows 10
This was my procedure (very easy IMO):


Thank you very much. It work great
 
Comment

leoaf79

macrumors member
Mar 28, 2013
49
7
I had exactly the same problem weeks ago.
My solution was to install a fresh copy of Windows 10 in EFI mode using a ISO copy of windows 10
This was my procedure (very easy IMO):


Hi guys,
I got this problem when I tried to install windows 10 on the same disk where Catalina was installed, using Virtualbox as you can see here:

So I installed on a dedicated disk, but it's a slow sata HDD and I do need to have it at the same NVME 1TB SSD where Catalina is. Do you think this rufus workaround may work in this case?
 
Comment

Enricote

macrumors member
Oct 7, 2018
68
39
Madrid, Spain
Hi guys,
I got this problem when I tried to install windows 10 on the same disk where Catalina was installed, using Virtualbox as you can see here:

So I installed on a dedicated disk, but it's a slow sata HDD and I do need to have it at the same NVME 1TB SSD where Catalina is. Do you think this rufus workaround may work in this case?
Honestly, I don't know. I guess it could be possible if you have a NVME to USB enclosure to do the procedure outside your Mac using an external Windows PC.
If I Would have one I would try to see if Rufus is able to find both partitions in your NVME (Catalina and ExFat for Windows).
 
  • Like
Reactions: leoaf79
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.