Windows 10 on iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Jamie-30, Jul 12, 2016.

  1. Jamie-30 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #1
    I'm wanting to run Windows 10 on my iPad Pro. I know I can't install it natively so was looking for another way.

    Is there a way to use VMware or parallels? I have seen the parallels access subscription but would prefer to use the whole desktop not just see the apps.

    I have tried teamviewer and splashtop and these are sort of what I'm looking for, however I want the desktop to keep the resolution and the iPad to use its own resolution but these apps seem to change the iMac resolution.

    Is there a way to do this? I don't want to use the native option on the iPad and have to scroll the desktop.

    Any ideas or suggestions would be great
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    What about duet? But this one basically turns your iPad to a wired second display.
     
  3. M. Gustave macrumors 68000

    M. Gustave

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Location:
    Grand Budapest Hotel
    #3
    There are numerous threads here about remoting into desktop machines, including with mouse support. Hopefully @sracer will chime in.
     
  4. Newtons Apple macrumors Pentium

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
  5. sracer macrumors 603

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Bongos and Beatniks
    #5
    I received @M. Gustave's mention. :)

    You're on the right track with TeamViewer and SplashTop, but as you have discovered there are limitations with both of those options. On my 12.9" iPad Pro I used to use TeamViewer (but they didn't update the app to support the larger screen).

    Now I'm using Jump Desktop. It's performance and features are noticeably nicer than those others AND perhaps just as important, it supports mice within its app. Not just any mice, the Citrix X1 and one other (the name escapes me at the moment). It actually does a terrific job with touch-only as well... so much so that when I'm in the living room watching TV and need to access or do something on my iMac, I'll just fire up Jump Desktop and do what I gotta do with a finger rather than pull out the mouse.

    I've been using the 12.9 iPP + Jump Desktop + Citrix X1 quite a bit since Father's Day and it is fantastic. Remoting into my iMac (at my home office) on my iPP and using a mouse within it is nearly identical to sitting in front of my Macbook Air (particularly when the network connection is good)... whether it is at my office 20 miles away or a coffee shop in town.

    Jump Desktop supports a "zoom" mode that allows you to see a close-up of the screen that automatically moves the view to keep up with the mouse pointer. Helpful for fine graphic work but a little disconcerting to "see the ground move under the pointer".

    I recommend trying Jump Desktop by itself first to see how well it performs for you, but if it works as well as I think it will, you'll want to get the mouse. There is a thread here that talks about it in more detail, just search titles for "Citrix X1".
     
  6. 8692574 Suspended

    8692574

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    #6
    It already happens many times a day..... as said by the topic starter not natively, but there are MANY ways.
     
  7. Newtons Apple macrumors Pentium

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #7
    Excuse me. I was talking natively.
     
  8. sracer macrumors 603

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Bongos and Beatniks
    #8
    It's a bit irritating when people claim that device "A" remotely connecting to device "B" is really that "A" is "running" what is on "B". I don't know if it is laziness/shorthand, ignorance, or intellectual dishonesty to prove a point. Especially when the OP was very specific to refer to "natively".

    Although I'm quite pleased with my solution, I'm disappointed that Apple is not aggressively enhancing iOS to further exploit the possibilities for the iPad Pro.
     
  9. 8692574, Jul 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2016

    8692574 Suspended

    8692574

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    #9
    It's a bit irritating when people don't even read the post, I don't know if it is laziness/shorthand, ignorance. Especially when the OP was pretty clear.

    I know but the OP wasn't ;)
     
  10. craig1024 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    #10
    Microsoft's own Remote Desktop software is the smoothest
     
  11. colinw123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    #11
    Same here, Microsoft's own Remote Desktop is the best for me.
     

Share This Page