Windows 7 32-bit: Only 2.18 Gb of ram?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mark28, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #1
    I installed Windows 7 32-bit with bootcamp on a 2010 15 inch MBP with 256mb 330m Gt.

    However, Windows 7 reports that 2.18 Gb out of the 4 Gb is usuable :eek: How is that even possible since the GPU has so little memory onboard?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    The video card isn't the only device that uses address space.
     
  3. mark28 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #3
    What else is? Because only 2.18 gb is very little imo and I don't understand how Windows 7 came up with that number :confused:

    For gaming, is 2.18 gb enough?
     
  4. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #4
    It's an architecture issue. In theory, Win32 could use something around 3.2GB of those 4 GB, but it's something with Apple's mainboards and the drivers for it that limit the available memory in 32-Bit Windows to 2 GB.

    Install 64-Bit Windows and be happy. And before somebody tells you otherwise: All versions of Vista and Windows 7 actually allow you to install either the 32-Bit or the 64-Bit version, even if you only have the installation medium for one architecture. You can order the 64-Bit DVD directly from Microsoft for a handling fee of around 20 bucks. I've blogged about that procedure quite a while ago; it's not necessarily straight forward and the order page is hidden somewhere on Microsoft's website, but that doesn't change the fact that your Windows license doesn't care whether you want to use the 32-Bit or 64-Bit version. (Some people believe that you would have to purchase a new version of Windows 7 to install the 64-Bit version. That was the case for Windows XP, but it was NEVER the case for Vista or 7, neither for the OEM/Systembuilder versions nor for the expensive retail or upgrade boxes.)
     
  5. mark28 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #5
    Ok nice. I have a legal 32-bit Windows 7 which I can use for a 64-bit Windows 7 then :)
     

Share This Page