Windows 7 32-bit or 64-bit compatibility on New 2010 Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by B A S, May 10, 2010.

  1. B A S macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #1
    I've ordered a new Macbook Pro, i7/8GB RAM (hi res/antiglare screen),
    I'm having Windows 7 installed on it, I want make the most of the 8gb of ram so 64-bit version would be first choice, is anyone running the 64bit version without any problems?
    It's been flagged to me there might be compatibility issues..
    When not using OS X programs (photoshop and Logic is the Macpro's main use) I'll be running FL STUDIO in windows 7 which is according to Microsoft's compatibility page is fine with both 32bit and 64bit...

    I need to tell the shop asap which version of Windows7 Pro to order.
    Thanks all!

    It's my first Macbook Pro!
     
  2. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    Ever since Macs got the Core 2 Duos, the architecture has been 64-bit. Therefore, any 64-bit flavor of Windows will run without trouble.

    Congratulations on your purchase!
     
  3. Cider Hammer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #3
    BAS

    I have the 17" i7, w/ 8G Ram, anti glare 512 SSD and have installed Win 7 64 bit. Everything has been great. Your going to love it! :)
     
  4. B A S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #4
    Thanks for the swift replies that reassuring :)
    I just thought when booting as windows and and progrmmes are updating and registering online, should I be running the pc virus programmes,firewall etc or is it different because it's within bootcamp?
     
  5. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    Just download and install Microsoft Security Essentials and you'll be fine.
     
  6. B A S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
  7. Emoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Installed Win7 64bit this morning, no issues yet. :)
     
  8. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #8
    I prefer Avast overall its free and has more feature but essentials is lighter.
     
  9. B A S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #9
    When windows is installed is it better done through bootcamp or parallels. I am mainly using windows to run FL Studio a pc program similar to Logic
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    If you'll be using the computer primarily in windows, then bootcamp. You'll have access to the hardware which will provide you with better performance.

    If you were planning on being in OSX for most of the time, then VMware would be a better response.
     
  11. B A S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #11
    Sorry to clarify, I'm running Photoshop in OS X mainly.
    I'd read that bootcamp was better for Windows audio programmes to do with latency issues.
     
  12. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #12
  13. jnpy!$4g3cwk macrumors 65816

    jnpy!$4g3cwk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #13
    Avira AntiVir Personal is my favorite, although Kaspersky has a nice (pay-for) Windows 7 version.
     
  14. jnpy!$4g3cwk macrumors 65816

    jnpy!$4g3cwk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #14
    Some folks have an aversion to 64-bit OS versions (Vista-64, W-7 64-bit, MacOS X Snowleopard) because they may have to get a new printer (some older printers never had their drivers updated). IMHO, this is a really bad reason to not go 64-bits. 64-bit OS's have major security advantages. In the case of Windows 7, ASLR, and H/W DEP, add a significant security capability that you should take advantage of, that basically make irrelevant a lot of old viruses and exploits (yes, there are newer, vastly more sophisticated exploits being deployed now). Compared to the cost of a printer (some printers are incredibly cheap now!), the cost of a security compromise in lost time and productivity is huge.
     
  15. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #15
    Me neither, but I still uninstalled it after I found out MSE is actually very good. And much more elegant than AVG Free.
     
  16. B A S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #16
    Update:
    Received shiny macbook pro today, got it home...
    it boots into windows 7...
    So, went online with it and installed Microsoft Security Essentials as recommended, and windows 7 updates, then installed Firefox (preferred browser over internet explorer)... to find out how to switch back to OS X...
    found to options:
    1. go to control panel / startup disk and change it there
    2.hold option when rebooting.

    1 in control panel there isn't a "startup disk" menu option.

    2 I held option and got to a text saying use arrow keys to select operating system. Using arrow keys does nothing, appears as if only one operating system is available?

    Will have to phone shop for answers in the morning, unless anyone has any advice here???
     
  17. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #17
    It sounds like you may have accidentally installed windows 7 onto the wrong partition and overwritten your OSX install.
     
  18. B A S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #18
    Really?
    Actually this was done by the shop I bought it from,
    Definately going to be paying them a visit tomorrow....
     
  19. B A S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #19
    Update:
    All has now been resolved...
    Company I bought macbook pro from replied and explained what to do.
    Holding the alt key at startup brings up the options for either OS X or Windows 7... and OS X is now the default
    (The holding x or option key advice was I found on a resource site to be ignored)
     

Share This Page